Pecan Pie Surprise Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
Superb recipe !!! My husband's favorite pie is pecan pie, and he is also a "cookie monster". So, this recipe fills the bill twice. Very rich but absolutely delicious! Easy to make, too. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I have made this recipe at least five times in the past two months for picnics, bake sales and as gifts. It freezes very well! The whole family loves it. The kids have to get used to the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I made a pan of these for Thanksgiving and they disappeared. I also made a pan to take to my office and a pan for my significant other to take to his office. People RAVED about them and begged for the recipe. They are absolutely delicious! I altered one ingredient the second time I made them - I used 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup and 1 cup of Karo dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
These bars were delicous and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Wonderful!!! I didn't have dark corn syrup so I used light and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very good! It is just like a pecan pie, but not as messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I was skeptical about these because of the cake mix, but they are delicious. I served these near Christmas, cut into triangles. Nice presentation. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I usually pass recipes which are based on store mixes, but believe me - this one is worth trying. I tripled the zmount of pecans and put some parchment paper on the bottom of the pan before pouring the batter - separating the bars when they were done was a breeze. Though the aroma of the baking will make you drool, make sure the pie cools completely before you cut it, otherwise the filling will be still gooey and the bars will look messy. Even better - refrigerate for several hours and then cut into bars. Good way to exercise your willpower! Beautiful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Great and easy recipe!. Instead of yellow cake mix I used caramel cake mix.I had to spread the cookie bottom instead of sprinkling it, which made me kinda nervous.This is a perfect alternative to the traditional pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was great! Thanks for a great keeper! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States