Pecan Pie Surprise Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is my husband's Grandma's recipe. She won the Pillsbury Bake Off in 1971 with this recipe and flew all of her kids to Hawaii (she and Grandpa were already there for the finals). She died in 1999 but would be tickled pink to know that so many are still enjoying the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
Superb recipe !!! My husband's favorite pie is pecan pie, and he is also a "cookie monster". So, this recipe fills the bill twice. Very rich but absolutely delicious! Easy to make, too. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is almost the exact same recipe as the pillsbury bake off winner recipe except that recipe calls for 1/3 cup softened butter. It is good but like pecan pie is sweet. I agree more pecans would be good. Maybe as much as 2 cups. But they are tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These bars were pretty yummy. Why were so many confused? Save out 2/3 CUP of cake mix; not 2/3 of the box. Soften the butter and you should get a ball of dough you can press into the pan with a spatula. I recommend baking the "crust" as long as you can and let it cool before pouring on the filling.Also, I'd use more than 1 cup of pecans. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The only variation I made in the ingredients was to use a full 6 oz bag of pecan pieces, equal to 1 and 1/3 cup, as suggested by previous bakers. I baked the bottom layer for 17 minutes and it was quite brown around the edges. The next stage, the filling was bubbling quickly, so I decreased the temp to 325 and increased the cooking time a few minutes because it was still jiggly at the 35 minute point. After cooling, I ended up cutting all the edges off because they were so hard and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Excellent! Will make these again. They must set and cool before cutting. After cooling the center has set and the bars keep there shape yet are still nice and moist on the inside. I did a 24 cut and with that cut it serves 24 as well. As rich as these are you only need one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Wonderful!!! I didn't have dark corn syrup so I used light and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
The measurements are ALL wrong. The cake batter ratios are completely off. Might be good if revised, but this should not remain posted as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGEWATSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
You're not left with 1/3 of the whole box of cake mix if you reserve 2/3 cup. Try it again because these cookies are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cineaste
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Don't forget the whipped cream or ice cream to top this off - then it's not so rich. This was our absolute favorite when we were kids - exactly this recipe (by Glenda). Dad loved it too... I'm glad I'm now making it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cineaste

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States