Pecan Pie Surprise Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Very disappointed. Followed the directions carefully and I agree that the bottom layer wasn't crumbly, it was a dough. Yuck. I bake all the time with excellent results but this one ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Redirg was right -- the butter and cake mix together make a dough, not a crumbly mixture. I double-checked that I did the proportions correctly, too. The cookies are in the oven now -- I think they'll taste fine, but the crust was a sticky dough that had to be patted into the pan. Maybe it depends on the type of butter/margarine used? And maybe it should be softened, as someone said, instead of melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
You're not left with 1/3 of the whole box of cake mix if you reserve 2/3 cup. Try it again because these cookies are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Something is wrong here ! I tried these yesterday, and 1/2 cup of melted butter and one egg to 1/3 of the cake mix does not equal "crumbly" It was DOUGH ! That was way too much liquid. I can not believe the others made this by the recipe and came out with such rave reviews. After seeing the results of all that liquid, all I could do to salvage it was to add the additional eggs, etc. called for on the box of cake mix and just bake a plain yellow cake. I was very disappointed as I was baking these for company. After reading the response. I wish to say that I did not misread the directions. My only thought is that perhaps they meant "softened butter" as opposed to "melted butter." I still say that 1/3 box of cake mix, 1 egg, and 1/2 cup of melted butter was not crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
My 10 yr. old daughter won GRAND CHAMPION with this recipe. Neen I say more. Thank you Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Everyone loves these bars! And they are a breeze to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe for pecan bars is superb. Even though I had to use a white cake mix in place of the yellow mix; and probably used twice the amount of pecans, I'm pleasantly happy with this recipe. This is for people who love the taste of pecan pie without all the gooey mess inside! The recipe was easy to follow, and all ingredients are readily available; GOOD JOB GLENDA:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Yumm! Great recipe. Finally, I can give my husband Pecan pie without having to make pie (I really dislike making pie)! This will be a regular at Thanksgiving and Christmas time for sure. I only gave 4 stars because I am reserving 5 stars for something that makes me go "oh my God!" but this was really good, no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was great! Thanks for a great keeper! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Great and easy recipe!. Instead of yellow cake mix I used caramel cake mix.I had to spread the cookie bottom instead of sprinkling it, which made me kinda nervous.This is a perfect alternative to the traditional pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States