Pecan Pie Surprise Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These bars were pretty yummy. Why were so many confused? Save out 2/3 CUP of cake mix; not 2/3 of the box. Soften the butter and you should get a ball of dough you can press into the pan with a spatula. I recommend baking the "crust" as long as you can and let it cool before pouring on the filling.Also, I'd use more than 1 cup of pecans. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Two things: 1) The recipe I used for these yummy bars says to mix ALL the cake mix with the egg and butter and THEN reserve out 2/3 of the, yes, DOUGH (not crumbly at all). Then you press the 1/3 of the dough into the pan and bake for 15 minutes. All the rest seems to be the same though. 2) I was making these the other day and had everything mixed and ready to go when I realized the only syrup I had was maple pankcake syrup. I went ahead and used it and it turned out great! (a little different than the way they are supposed to be) but still delicious!! Just a tip in case you run out of corn syrup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe is the best! The only thing I did different is light corn syrup instead of dark because I didn't have dark on hand. The yellow cake mix crust is so much better than traditional pie crust, which I'm not a huge fan of. Also instead of melting the butter I softened cold butter for 20 seconds in the microwave and it worked great. Thanks, this one is a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Okay, I have a very similar recipe to this, and it calls for combining the cake mix, one egg, and SOFTENED butter together. After you mix it all together (it will form a dough, not a crumbly mixture), press all but 2/3 cup of the ENTIRE MIXTURE into the pan and bake. Then follow the rest of the recipe as listed. When I made it this way it turned out wonderfully. So even if the dough is doughy and not crumbly, the recipe still works, so don't give up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evansville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I love these bars. So simple (Cake mixes are wonderful shortcuts!) and delicious. I couldn't believe my taste buds when I ate these. Just like pecan pie. If you like pecan pie you will like these as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Bottom Layer was very much a dough, not crumbly~ and I used softened butter instead of melted, just cut it in like for a pie crust. Once I got it into the pan (messy work), it was fine. Try dipping your fingers into a little of the reserved cake mix to minimize the sticking. Next time I will cook the base a little longer but overall the final result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I wish I would have read the reviews on this before I wasted my time and ingredients. There is NO WAY you can get crumbly consistency from the recipe. What you get is dough which you have to try and press into the pan. I don't know how the folks who made them from this recipe could have enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Very disappointed. Followed the directions carefully and I agree that the bottom layer wasn't crumbly, it was a dough. Yuck. I bake all the time with excellent results but this one ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Redirg was right -- the butter and cake mix together make a dough, not a crumbly mixture. I double-checked that I did the proportions correctly, too. The cookies are in the oven now -- I think they'll taste fine, but the crust was a sticky dough that had to be patted into the pan. Maybe it depends on the type of butter/margarine used? And maybe it should be softened, as someone said, instead of melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
You're not left with 1/3 of the whole box of cake mix if you reserve 2/3 cup. Try it again because these cookies are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States