Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by boxerlover
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is the first pecan pie I have ever made. I followed this to exact recipe. It is delicious. It was so easy to make. I did use a deep dish pie crust. Makes a beautiful pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
takes a lot longer to bake than the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Super easy and super yummy! It cooked much faster than 55mins in my old gas oven. First time I made this it way overdone, but the taste was still spot on. Second time I made this I only cooked for 30-40mins and it was much yummier. I used a store bought crust and it was still delicious! I will definitely continue to use this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Abner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Everyone raves about this pie! Many pecan pie recipes are far too sweet. This hits just the right note. While traveling through San Saba, Tx, I picked up some of their famous pecans. They were perfect for this recipe. Remember to store your pecans at 35F or lower. Instead of using a pre-made frozen pie shell, consider using of the refrigerated "roll-out" pie crusts. Much better then the frozen. Be sure to dust both sides with flour for best results. When making the pie, one thing to be careful of is to not over-beat the eggs. If you do, you'll get an ugly crust on top. Also, instead of folding in the pecans, pour them evenly on the bottom of the empty pie shell, then pour the filling slowing on top. They will rise naturally to the top (if they don't, they're bad). And instead of the toothpick test, just test it with a quality quick-read temperature probe. The interior should be at 200F when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very basic pecan pie recipe. I made this for my ill grandmother and she loved it. I made it one time with the store bought crust and made my own crust another time. Results were excellent both times. Mine did take about 25 minutes longer to cook, so watch the oven time closely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe was perfect! I made it and everyone loved it. It was really easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is the perfect classic pecan pie. My mother always used white sugar instead of brown and it is delicious! One thing I found out the hard way, do NOT use an off-brand corn syrup! I made two pies for a family gathering using a store brand corn syrup with everything else the same and they NEVER did set up!! I made two more using Karo and they turned out perfect. I will never use an off brand again. Hope this is the answer for those who say their pie did not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made as written for Easter dinner and pie was delicious!! It did take a few extra minutes in the over to bake, was slightly jiggly after 55 minutes. Took about 65-70 minutes for me, but was worth the wait. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CardsFan4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This pie was simple & amazing! I browned the pecans in the oven beforehand as suggested. I won't need to look for another pecan pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Why oh why did i read this and make it? Its all I want now!! I did melt the butter in a glass bowl and use that bowl for the corn syrup, it seemed to get it all out. I also used dark corn syrup so I used half dark brown and half white sugar. This is soooo good and easy, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States