Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe was a hit just as it is. This was my first attempt at baking and everyone loved the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie received rave reviews at Thanksgiving. I did vary from it, in that I used half portions of light and dark corn syrup and half portions of light and dark brown sugar. I used "real" brown eggs, that are always better. I did mix together the melted butter (though I used Blue Bonnet) and flour before adding it to the mix. Also, I added 1 TBS Captain Morgan's spiced rum. Because I read that it requires a deep dish, I made the recipe, but divided it between two pie shells and added more pecans to make up needed volume. I also used the "Spiced Pecan Crust" recipe found here. Because of the two more shallow pies, I baked them for 40 minutes, and it was about perfect with my oven. My husband says this is the best pecan pie he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is really good for no syrup. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have make this a number of times and it is a big hit with the family. I know a few reviewers have stated that a deep dish pan is needed, but for this Thanksgiving I made a double recipe and used 2 regular disposable 9" pie pans - We're traveling and I didn't want to worry about coming home with the pans - Everything fit perfectly. I do suggest placing the disposable pan inside a regular pan before baking. It makes it so much more sturdy with all at ingredients. GREAT PIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dcis1970
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very easy recipe! I love to cook but I am not very good at baking so if I can follow this recipe anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcis1970

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy412
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious! I have no idea why I feared making pecan pie all this time....this was an easy recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by boxerlover
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is the first pecan pie I have ever made. I followed this to exact recipe. It is delicious. It was so easy to make. I did use a deep dish pie crust. Makes a beautiful pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
takes a lot longer to bake than the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Super easy and super yummy! It cooked much faster than 55mins in my old gas oven. First time I made this it way overdone, but the taste was still spot on. Second time I made this I only cooked for 30-40mins and it was much yummier. I used a store bought crust and it was still delicious! I will definitely continue to use this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Abner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Everyone raves about this pie! Many pecan pie recipes are far too sweet. This hits just the right note. While traveling through San Saba, Tx, I picked up some of their famous pecans. They were perfect for this recipe. Remember to store your pecans at 35F or lower. Instead of using a pre-made frozen pie shell, consider using of the refrigerated "roll-out" pie crusts. Much better then the frozen. Be sure to dust both sides with flour for best results. When making the pie, one thing to be careful of is to not over-beat the eggs. If you do, you'll get an ugly crust on top. Also, instead of folding in the pecans, pour them evenly on the bottom of the empty pie shell, then pour the filling slowing on top. They will rise naturally to the top (if they don't, they're bad). And instead of the toothpick test, just test it with a quality quick-read temperature probe. The interior should be at 200F when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States