Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellet as is . No need to change a thing !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
PERFECT yummy BIG hit at Christmas Dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I've made this pie a few times now, and it has been met with rave reviews. Heed the other commenters; you really don't need as many pecans as the recipe calls for. Also, don't overbake or the filling becomes brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was delicious! I made it with crushed pecans instead of halves and poured it into mini muffin cups lined with pie crust. Everyone loved the taste at my family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was very easy to make. I had never had Pecan pie before and thought it was awful hard, but once we cut it up and ate it...it was quite tasty. I also followed other reviews and put it in a deep dish pan, but then had to double the pie filling to make it fit...next time I will use a regular pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My first pecan pie and it turned out great. It was really easy to make and took little effort. The cooking time was longer than the recipe stated but it wasn't a big deal. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
substituted sorghum molasses for most of the corn syrup. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I love pecan pie, and over the years I have tried many different recipes but none of them were quite right. They all fell short of the "this is the perfect pecan pie" mark. Finally! I have found a recipe that is exactly what a pecan pie should be. I made this for Christmas and after one bite my sister exclaimed, "This is the best pie you have ever made!" Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Perfect 'as is,' no changes. My only advice concerns baking & prep. 1) Let eggs come to room temp. If you don't, the pie won't be done by the time specified, resulting in burnt crust & unset filling. 2) Toast the pecans in the oven until browned slightly, between 5-10 min after oven is preheated. It brings out their flavor & helps form a seal so they aren't mushy or hard to cut. 3) Using dark corn syrup, light corn syrup or Lyle's golden syrup (has maple flavoring) all net the same great results. However, in general, baking is a science & ingredients should be subbed carefully; guessing rarely works. 4) Bake on the bottom rack. This helps avoid a burnt crust, plus keep in mind that all ovens are different. I use 325 and cook until the middle no longer jiggles, checking at 40 and 50 min. I have another recipe that demands more pecans (wasteful), and I like a balance of filling & pecans. This recipe is a classic, and it's the only one I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I am personally still struggling with this pie, my first one came out with the top burned way before the middle solidified. My second attempt (in a better oven) turned out a lot more edible but the middle still hadn't solidified quite right. What I do like about this recipe is that it is very simple so it's a good starting point for my pecan pie making career. After talking it over with more experienced pie makers I'm going to add more corn syrup and chop up the pecans next time to make it easier to eat with a fork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States