Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by jcarlson
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My first time making pecan pie. This recipe was super easy. I did decrease the brown sugar to 3/4 of a cup. The crust overbaked since when I pulled it out of the oven and "jiggle tested" the center, it still was too wiggly. But otherwise, I got huge compliments on the the pie, everyone thought it was delicious and loved that it was not as sweet as most pecan pies, this has now become my go to recipe for a new Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was the best pecan pie I've ever eaten. I used white sugar because I didn't have brown and it was perfect. I also used the pie crust tips from this site and they helped me make a better crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this over Thanksgiving for the in-laws (who were already biased to the MIL's version), and everyone loved it! I took another reviewer's advice and doubled the recipe to make 3 shallow pies (instead of deep dish). I mixed in the pecans, but I think I'll just add them to the bottom next time since it was hard to pour the mixture in three pies without one ending up with all the pecans! Great pie! I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe was a hit just as it is. This was my first attempt at baking and everyone loved the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie received rave reviews at Thanksgiving. I did vary from it, in that I used half portions of light and dark corn syrup and half portions of light and dark brown sugar. I used "real" brown eggs, that are always better. I did mix together the melted butter (though I used Blue Bonnet) and flour before adding it to the mix. Also, I added 1 TBS Captain Morgan's spiced rum. Because I read that it requires a deep dish, I made the recipe, but divided it between two pie shells and added more pecans to make up needed volume. I also used the "Spiced Pecan Crust" recipe found here. Because of the two more shallow pies, I baked them for 40 minutes, and it was about perfect with my oven. My husband says this is the best pecan pie he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is really good for no syrup. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have make this a number of times and it is a big hit with the family. I know a few reviewers have stated that a deep dish pan is needed, but for this Thanksgiving I made a double recipe and used 2 regular disposable 9" pie pans - We're traveling and I didn't want to worry about coming home with the pans - Everything fit perfectly. I do suggest placing the disposable pan inside a regular pan before baking. It makes it so much more sturdy with all at ingredients. GREAT PIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dcis1970
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very easy recipe! I love to cook but I am not very good at baking so if I can follow this recipe anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcis1970

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy412
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious! I have no idea why I feared making pecan pie all this time....this was an easy recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by boxerlover
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is the first pecan pie I have ever made. I followed this to exact recipe. It is delicious. It was so easy to make. I did use a deep dish pie crust. Makes a beautiful pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States