Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Several commented that this was their first pecan pie, which caused me to realize I've made over 100 pecan pies! Here are a few tips: - This recipe is the classic variety, which is really the best. Slight changes in the classic recipe include using white vs. brown sugar, using dark vs. light corn syrup, using 2 vs. 4 Tbsp. butter. All are good, personal taste determines your choice. - Don't over beat the eggs; you don't want them frothy. Melt the butter in a measuring cup and then use the buttered cup to measure the corn syrup so it will all come out of the cup. - This recipe fills a deep dish pan. If you use a shallow pan then a double recipe will make 3 pies. - Mix the pecan in with the filling or put them in the pan before the filling. They float to the top. Mixing them in (rather than adding them on top) insures that they have a nice glaze on them. - Extra pecans may seem like a great idea, but they can't all get to the top. 1-1/2 cups may be too much depending on your pan. If I'm making several pies at once, I cover the bottom of the pans with pecans and then pour the filling on top. I use a fork to flip them over to look pretty after they float up. - Check to see if pie is done by shaking the pan - no jiggle and it's done. The depth determines how long it will need to bake. UPDATE: I just made 12 pies in a morning. I put the pecans in each crust, then mixed a double recipe in my food processor and poured the filling on top of each. Easier method for lots of pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1854 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I used this recipe for my first attempt at pecan pie because it looked fairly simple...and it definitely was! I followed the recipe perfectly and only changed to a deep-dish pie crust, which worked out well. It baked for 55 minutes before I pulled it out of the oven because it looked done. (Hard to tell with this type of pie.) Then I served it to friends after it was cooled down to room temperature, and everyone loved it. Very sweet and a rich, creamy consistencey with a crunch - everything a pecan pie should be. Thanks for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This recipe does need a deep dish pie shell, however, if you only have a regular pie shell only use: 2 eggs 2/3 cups of corn syrup 2/3 cups of brown sugar 2 tsp. of flour 1 1/2 tbsps. of butter 1 tsp. vanilla 1 cup of pecans The recipe calculator doesn't do this calculation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Great pie, especially for a first timer. I live in the UK and used this for my first Thanksgiving..it was a great way to introduce my British friends to the holiday. Very nutty--also very rich but not as overwhelming as some pecan pies. It did take almost twice the given baking time, but I just left it in till the knife came clean as she said and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
OMG! This is the best and easiest pecan pie ever! It was the first one I ever made because I had heard it was difficult, but this one was terrific. Only change I made was putting pecans on the top. Oh, and I had to use a deep dish pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Perfect 'as is,' no changes. My only advice concerns baking & prep. 1) Let eggs come to room temp. If you don't, the pie won't be done by the time specified, resulting in burnt crust & unset filling. 2) Toast the pecans in the oven until browned slightly, between 5-10 min after oven is preheated. It brings out their flavor & helps form a seal so they aren't mushy or hard to cut. 3) Using dark corn syrup, light corn syrup or Lyle's golden syrup (has maple flavoring) all net the same great results. However, in general, baking is a science & ingredients should be subbed carefully; guessing rarely works. 4) Bake on the bottom rack. This helps avoid a burnt crust, plus keep in mind that all ovens are different. I use 325 and cook until the middle no longer jiggles, checking at 40 and 50 min. I have another recipe that demands more pecans (wasteful), and I like a balance of filling & pecans. This recipe is a classic, and it's the only one I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEDUSA3139
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I made this for my father's coming home party. Since he loves pecan pie so much, I got this recipe. It was so gooey and delisious, it my family chanting for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEDUSA3139

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Tasted good, but I cooked it for 70 minutes and it still did not set up as it needed too. A little runny. I could have cooked it longer but my crust had had enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was super easy! I had never made a pecan pie before and everyone loved it so much, that I didn't even get a piece! One tip, use a deep dish pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsleah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Didn't have any dark syrup, so I decided to try this recipe. Easy to make and tasted great. Used frozen pie crust and had filling left over. Will make again when I don't have dark syrup. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States