Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Awesome pie as is!! My parents' oven is a little wonky so after the first 50 minutes of baking, I put foil around the crust to prevent burning, kept baking and then accidentally left it in for 20 minutes too long. The trick is, although the knife will come out "clean", there will still be syrup on it. Anyway, the extra time ended up caramelizing the pecans (candied!) and the inner sweetness wasn't too gooey, which ended up being a bonus for everyone in my family. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This has its good points and bad points...the good is that everyone loved it and scarfed it down during Thanksgiving...the bad point is that everyone loved it so much, I have to make 5 of them for Christmas and I am going to be worn out! *laugh* Ain't that great?!?! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was my year to make desserts for Thanksgiving, and my dad always insists on Pecan Pie - Thank you so much for this recipe - the pie was a HIT! And it was SO easy! Full of flavor, easy to make - I'll be making it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very yummy! Used the deep dish but had to cook it for about 70 minutes before the middle hardened. Unfortunately, the crust was a bit overcooked but still tasted yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by BSLAAK
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Everybody said that this was the best pecan pie they have ever had at my Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSLAAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wattsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Excellent recipe. Very easy to prepare. It was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Had to bake an extra 20 minutes and the knife still didn't come out clean. We still ate it though and the taste was great. Make sure you use a very sharp knife to cut it as the pecans will mush down into the pie if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I just made this pie last night. We had it today for our Thanksgiving dinner. WOW---everyone absolutely loved it. My husband said it sure was a keeper, and my brother-n-law said the same thing. I didnt change anything, i also baked it as the recipe said. I really do love this recipe. It will always be in my family and it didnt get to done and it wasnt to runny, it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Made it for Thanksgiving and served with Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla. Everybody loved it! Will probably try cane syrup next time vs corn syrup. It's a southern thang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was excellent, Very easy to prepare and it tasted great. It was not overly sweet as with some pecan pies, the true taste of pecans came through. I did lay a piece of foil on the top and baked it an additional 15 minutes than stated because the pie crust was getting too brown and the filling wasn't setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States