Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Best pecan pie ever! I usually don't add brown sugar to my pecan pies. I guess that is what makes this one so good. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Hairston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I'm not sure where to start... I've made MANY pies in my day. The flavor of this one is incredible! Unfortunately it just wouldn't set up... We baked it for 30 minutes longer than the directions say. The top was DARK and if felt set. When we cut into it THE NEXT DAY it was all liquid. Like I said, I tasted the top and it was delicious but I had to throw it out for fear that the eggy liquid would give someone salmonella. Weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raewyn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I baked it for about 55 mins and it set up nicely. I did let it set for a couple hours before cutting into it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was my first time making pecan pie, and it turned out well, but waiting for a knife to come out clean caused it to be overcooked. I should have followed the advice of the pie expert who said it's done when it doesn't jiggle anymore. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was great. It was easy to make, although I substituted walnuts for the pecans. Kept everything else the same, though. It was a hit with everyone and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Awesome! I love it. I don't normally like pecan pie much but I loved this recipe. So easy, too. My husband commented that it was sweeter than he expected. Maybe a dark Karo would be better for those who like it less sweet. For me, it was perfect just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I've never made a pecan pie before, so I though I'd give this recipe a try, it was wonderful, everyone loved it, made it just how the recipe said , I couldn't have been happier, made it with a butter pie crust from this site, very rich but great, you'll only need a small piece, but very rewarding, if you like pecan pie try this one, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Excellent recipie. I made this for the 1st time today and took to our Thanksgiving dinner. Very good I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Very good and simple recipe. One tip is to melt 1/2 bag of baking caramel with 1 T. of butter and fold it into the mixture just before the pecans, or to layer the pecans on the bottom of the pie pan and then drizzle a generous amount of caramel syrup over them before adding the filling to the pan. Gives the pie a nice, smooth texture, and also adds a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is your classic pecan pie recipe. My husband's mother adds 1 tsp of lemon to her recipe. Hint: take some tin foil, cut a circle and place over pie so that it covers the outside entire edge of the crust - leave this on the pie while cooking and remove the last 10 minutes. This will keep your crust from burning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States