Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
For Thanksgiving dinner with my family last year, I made my first pie with this recipe. The only thing I did differently was that I used a frozen pie crust for convenience. Just so you know, MY FAMILY IS ADAMANTLY REQUESTING IT AGAIN!!!! Thank you, Sun Flower :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I will try this pie again before looking for a better recipe. Next time, I will try the following modifications as recommended by others: substitute brown sugar for the white, add 1/4 cup melted butter, add 1 Tbsp flour. Also, be sure the pecans are chopped well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
The pie never set, no matter how long I cooked it. The pie crust was also mushy even though I followed the directions. Under no circumstances would I try this again. I was doing a test run for Thanksgiving and I thank God I didn't try this on Turkey Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FINNESSAWILLIAMS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly. I made two pies; one for home and one for others. Across the board the response was that the pie was good. I didn't get a great. There are some other pecan pie recipes on this site that got better reviews. I probably won't make this one again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Good classic pecan pie! Very Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly, and it came out great. One thing, though...it was a bit runny, but my oven might have been low on the temperature side. The pie firmed up when it was cut anyway, and the 10 slices of pie disappeared in a matter of minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
this was just OK for me. I followed the recipie as intended. If you follow the directions it says to cook 45 min middle of pie will be loose. The reality is that the whole center of the pie is loose. I kept cooking it expecting the center to firm and I think it over cooked some. Not my fav. pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
As for the flour/butter alteration dispute, it is how you add it that will make the difference in the result. I dissolved the flour in the melted butter before mixing into the rest of the ingredients and my pie was velvety rich, smooth and delicious. If you want to impress them at Thanksgiving, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy Ehlers Whitney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Good basic recipe. We didn't think it was overly sweet or rich for pecan pie. We made the recipe as is and it took between 40 to 45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Bourgoin Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Very good and easy!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Steffens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States