Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
As for the flour/butter alteration dispute, it is how you add it that will make the difference in the result. I dissolved the flour in the melted butter before mixing into the rest of the ingredients and my pie was velvety rich, smooth and delicious. If you want to impress them at Thanksgiving, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy Whitney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Wow - no wonder all the reviews for this recipe were so positive!!! Made this last night. Following the suggestion of another reviewer, I added 1/4 cup of butter and 1 tablespoon of flour. This is truly the PERFECT pecan pie recipe! Cooked it for the exact time stated, and after it cooled it set perfectly. I will pass this wonderful recipe on to my daughter - Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I tried baking this, but I used some of the suggestions in the review box. DO NOT ADD BUTTER to this, it won't solidify if you do. The recipe was probably fine as is. It actually tasted very good, but the extra butter really ruined it. I would also suggest adding a lot more pecans. I can tell this recipe will actually taste good, though, so I'm going to make it again - I just won't add in any alterations from the comments ever again LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was the first pie I have EVER made and all I heard was, "This is the best pecan pie I've ever had." My dad, father-in-law, mother and a few friends all loved it. I added a 1/4C butter and a tablespoon of flour to the recipe. It set up perfectly. I also added whole pecans to the top of the pie to give it a nicer presentation. I was asked to make this pie for both of my family Thanksgivings! Will be making this pie for the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I had never made a pecan pie, so I came here searching for a good recipe for a tough crowd at Christmas. I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. I altered to some of the different suggestions offered in prev. reviews by adding a tbls. flour and 1/4 cup butter. Not only was the taste amazing but was firm even after setting out most of the evening. This one is a keeper and a hit with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I used this pecan pie for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I did add 1/4 cup of butter and 1 Tablespoon of flour as suggested on a review. The trick is to melt butter mix with flour then add to other ingredients. Cook for the exact time stated turn off your oven an let it cool on the oven rack. It will set perfectly. I also added pecan to top . thanks for this recipe it was easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Cliff, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I made this pie for a party I had to attend, and everyone said it was the best pecan pie they had ever had. I did switch the white sugar for brown, added the 1/4 melted butter and 1 tbsp flour. I will be making this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Very good! I think it would taste even better with more pecans and brown sugar instead of white. After 40 minutes baking, the center was still a bit runny but it set as cooling down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly. I made two pies; one for home and one for others. Across the board the response was that the pie was good. I didn't get a great. There are some other pecan pie recipes on this site that got better reviews. I probably won't make this one again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Changed nothing. Will never need another Pecan Pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States