Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
The best! With adjustments. Melt 1/4 cup butter and LET COOL first before making the filling. Replace white sugar with BROWN sugar, and remove a couple of tablespoons from the 3/4 cup called for. Use 1 cup broken up pecans PLUS pecan halves for the top. Bake until top is cracked, and let cool slightly before slicing to prevent the runny mess. Actually, if yours is runny, its underbaked. I have made this pie twice already and its not runny at all. Will try to cream the butter & sugar, then eggs next time and see how it works. Maybe it will puff up in the oven more than usual, but I guess it will subside when cooled. At least no more melting! Will let you know after I have eaten all of the 2nd pie I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Nepomuceno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Wow! This pie turned out great! I truly impressed my dad with this one as he loves pecan pie. Followed the recipe to a T, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Very first pecan pie I ever made... very easy and was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have never made a pie in my life. Feeling quite domestic yesterday in my single life and decided to make my favorite the pecan pie! It turned out amazing, I'm sad that I have no one to share my first pie with. So I share with all of you who know. Thank you so much, It actually is the best pecan pie I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I'm a novice when it comes to making pies and pie crusts, but when I was called upon to make a pecan pie for my family's Christmas gathering, I knew it had to be perfect--I did a lot of research and decided on this recipe, following the advice of other reviewers (adding about 2 tbsp. flour and 2 tbsp. butter.) I also added an extra 1/2 c chopped pecans. The pie came out wonderfully! (Well, aside from the fact that the crust I prepared from a Martha Stewart recipe was a bit crumbly.) This pie was not as terribly sweet as other pecan pies and the texture less runny, making it less overwhelmingly sweet. Everyone loved it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
i will never need another pecan pie recipe! this one is perfect. the only change i made was increasing to 1 1/2 cups pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe was PERFECT! Definitely a perfect Southern Pecan Pie. I made the other recipe titled "Pecan Pie" which has the Allrecipe Symbol beside it and it doesn't even come close to this one. Plus, the other one was much too complicated and difficult to make and no one really liked it in my family and extended families. This one - Pecan Pie III - is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I substitute 1-2 cups of oatmeal instead of the pecans to create an oatmeal pie ..and since I love pecans and walnuts, I add some to the top. Goes great with cinnamon ice cream. This recipe worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I tried baking this, but I used some of the suggestions in the review box. DO NOT ADD BUTTER to this, it won't solidify if you do. The recipe was probably fine as is. It actually tasted very good, but the extra butter really ruined it. I would also suggest adding a lot more pecans. I can tell this recipe will actually taste good, though, so I'm going to make it again - I just won't add in any alterations from the comments ever again LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Changed nothing. Will never need another Pecan Pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States