Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
this recipe was nice but did use the substitutes: light corn syrup and 1/2 c brown sugar instead of white sugar. The pies turned out really tasty nad my family really enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JameelahS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I used light corn syrup since that is what I have in the pantry and it was great. I used pecan halves and slightly chopped them. My son loves pecan pie and he had 2 pieces after school today!! I also cooked for about 10 minutes longer because it was too liquidy after 55 minutes. Will make for Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Blissfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
So I'm not much of a baker but this turned out to be wonderful! I took the suggestions for substituting brown sugar for white, using light corn syrup instead of dark, and cooking 70 minutes instead of 55. Purely out of inadequate supplies, I ended up using about 3/4 cup light corn syrup and 1/4 cup of regular maple pancake syrup the second time I made this. The maple syrup added a fantastic scent and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinydancer2426

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this recipes as written, and added some Jack Daniels as was suggested, and I loved it! I normally don't eat Pecan Pie, I just make it for others in the family that do, but even I enjoyed this. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
We did not care for this pie. My husband had one piece and then we ended up throwing the rest away. I didn't realize how much of an impact dark corn syrup would have on this and it was pretty substantial. It turned out to be very bitter and just not the kind of pecan pie we enjoy. I will stick with making pecan pie with light corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Made exactly as written. Was delicious warm, and even better out of the fridge the next day. My husband thought it was the best pecan pie he ever tasted. Similar to what other reviewers found, my pie did take about 70 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was a Thanksgiving hit.I will definately be making it again on Christmas.I really liked the fact that it wasn't the least bit runny or overly sweet.Although i did sub light corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I have made this recipe a number of times, it's a huge hit in my home. I use half the amount of sugar so it's not that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was my first attempt at a pecan pie, and I have to say this recipe was very easy, and quick too. I read all the reviews, and glad I did, for I had light, not dark corn syrup, so I just used half a cup of brown sugar in place of half the white, and used the full amount of light corn syrup. Came out great, taste wise...I over baked the crust a bit, but still really tasty...Thanks Mike, my hubby loved the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
What's not to like? This tastes like everything I want in a pecan pie, only better, because I added 1/2 cup of Amaretto instead of 3 tablespoons... Especially good in a shortbread crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States