Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
No changes. Just not sweet enough. Picked it because it looked easy and I had all ingredients. Disappointed. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Good but a little hard on top and runny in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Today I made three different pecan pie recipes off this website for the purpose of taste testing them against each other and this one was the unanimous winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe .i made it for thanksgiving and usually don like pecan pie but this recipe change my mind !!! I also made whipp cream on it made it even better whip cream pint of heavy cream and 1/2 cup of sugar and beat it till its fluffy on an electric blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is it! I was recently in Houston and brought home a Brazos Bottom Pecan Pie from Goode BBQ, a major Houston institution. Now that pie did it for me. My teen granddaughter ate some and proclaimed she was going with me on my next trip back home. Well, she had some of this pie for Thanksgiving and said this was better. I won't claim that, but it is dang good. The change I made was brown sugar instead of the white. I also buttered sauted the pecans. I recommend making the pie crust instead of ready made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made this at Thanksgiving a couple years back and it was my 1st attempt at pecan pie. I'm not crazy out pecan pie in general, but my hubbie loves it and he loved this version too. Homemade pie crust makes all the difference in a pie. Once you get good at making your own crust, you'll consistently impress people with your pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
We loved this recipe! This will be THE Pecan Pie recipe used in our house! This reminds me of the recipe that made me fall in love with Pecan Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used a graham cracker crust, i blind baked it for 8min first so it would'nt get soggy. The filling was just the right amount, so i would'nt use a deep dish crust like the recipe calls for. I don't think it would fill up all they way. Also, the "not too sweet" description is misleading. It was REALLY sweet, i even used salted pecans! But, pecan pie should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was "the best pecan pie we have ever had". I received complements like that through all of Thanksgiving. I am making it again for Christmas. I am not a big pecan pie lover because they just seem like a pile of sugar but this one actually tasted like pecan - like it should! My husband was so excited because this is his favorite kind of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I'm a professional baker with over 10 years experience. This recipe was given to me about 8 years ago by a customer who thought this recipe would be great for me to use instead of the one I was given in culinary school. After a few minor tweaks here and there, and my own homemade crust, this is the best selling pie I've ever made. It's also a family favorite, and has converted my dad, who didn't eat pecan pie because it was always too sweet, a HUGE fan of it. I don't know what kind of dark corn syrup the user who thought it was too bitter tried, but this pie is an enormous hit with my family, friends, and my clients. If I don't have dark corn syrup, I substitute with 3/4 c. light corn syrup and top the cup off with molasses(spray the glass measuring cup with cooking spray to make everything come out easier). I've also only chopped half the pecans, add them to the crust(not the custard), pour the custard in and top the pie with the whole nuts(randomly, not necessarily in a pattern). The pie cuts easier with chopped nuts, but the whole nuts on top make a prettier presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States