Pecan Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is an absolutely delicious, rich, buttery cake. I could not find butter pecan cake mix so I used a yellow cake mix and I used pecan halves rather than chopping them. I only had 1/2 cup corn syrup so I substituted agave for the other half. The baking time is definitely off. Baked the first layer 30 minutes and the second layer 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am getting ready to make this cake for the second time and realized I never rated it the first time. Initially I made this after I went looking for something pecan-ish for my new niece-in-law who adores anything with pecans. The whole family LOVED it, even my husband who usually hates anything with nuts. This is totally worth a try and totally worth the outrageous amount of butter and sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My newest favorite. Shared at work, was a huge hit. Baked longer than recipe says though. Add 5 minutes to the first layer and 10 minutes for the second layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Okay, here's my take on this recipe. I'm diabetic as is most of my family. I used a 13x9 aluminum pan even though the lady who gave me the recipe said the batter almost overflowed her pan. Her recipe called for white cake mix, but I had yellow and went for it. Instead of using a full cup of brown sugar in the first half of the recipe, I used 1/2 cup. The one-third batter almost doesn't cover the entire bottom of the pan. Didn't even notice that I had forgotten to add the 2 cups of pecans and the first bake had been going for about 5 minutes. I poured the pecans on top of the first bake and pressed them down slightly. As with several of the other reviewers, I had to leave the first bake in the oven for 25 minutes instead of 20. Now for the second bake. My only changes were that I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup and I used just one egg in the reserved 2/3 batter. Because I used 1/2 cup sugar I reduced the milk to 1/2 cup also. By the time you add in the milk you will have a very liquid batter, very unlike the first bake. There is no way this cake is ready at 30 minutes. My cake had to stay in the oven for 50 minutes just so the center didn't giggle. The second bake did fill the pan to the top but after baking, the two layers settled down. My verdict, 3 eggs were just fine and the cake was very sweet even after the sugar reduction. I will try again to tone down the sweetness by not adding in the white sugar. P.S. I finely chopped the pecans to cut the gooey cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My favorite cake recipe but takes a lot longer to bake than in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is my go-to cake for any event! I am making it for the 4th time today for my friend's birthday who has never even had pecan pie! This cake will forever ruin pecan pie for her; it is that good! YES it does take longer to bake. But to those reviewers who dismissed the recipe because they couldn't wait an additional 10-15 mins, y'all missed out big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Need more instructions or pictures to help with bake time on this cake, since it's an unorthodox preparation to add a layer on top of a baked layer. What is the correct doneness for the first layer? How do you know when second layer has baked long enough? I'm sure mine will be concrete when it cools, because it seemed like it needed significantly longer to bake than recipe indicates. After 20 + 25 minutes, it was still liquid... Also, I'm glad i put the cake pan on a cookie sheet, because it baked out alllllll over the place. Because of all the rave reviews, i want to get it right! HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This cake is delicious. Only thing I had to modify was the baking time for the second step, at 30 minutes it was still "soupy" and not brown. I added about 15-20 minutes on to the baking time and took it out when it was golden brown. The edges were hard, but tasted rather good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Awesome. I just had to bake a little longer than what called for, Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States