Pecan Pie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good, followed the directions exactly and turned out great. Made them for Thanksgiving instead of the Pecan Pie. Definitely served more than a pie would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Awesome recipe! I made for Thanksgiving, and everybody loved them. I am not a fan of pecan pie - too sugary, too gooey, too rich - but the bars have the same flavor and are just right. I used more like 3 cups of pecans - just coated the top until it looked thick and good. Turned out really well, I'd recommend it - I can't imagine them with only 1 cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Tawas, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Mmmm. I used butter pecan cake mix instead of yellow and I believe this made them even more d-lish! Yes, the bottom crust was difficult to spread and pat into the pan but it did work. I allowed mine to cool some before I put the filling on top. The filling wasn't done in 35 minutes. As every oven temp differs, mine took 45 minutes until the center no longer jiggled when I shook the pan. I took the advice of others and allowed it to cool then I put them in the fridge over night to harden some so it can cut easier as they are gooey/creamy in the midddle (yummy). A very good peacan bar. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious, easy and lives up to the positive reviews. My only change was to increase pecans to 2 cups. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good. They do, indeed, taste like pecan pie to me. For whatever reason, I am not the biggest fan of sweet stuff, but I love pecan pie, and these are excellent and easy. I used white cake mix bc I didn't have yellow, and I used 1 1/4 c of brown sugar with about 3 or 4 tbspoons of water to achieve one cup of dark corn syrup. I did add a bit more brown sugar and water since this recipe called for a bit more than 1 c of corn syrup. I was making other cookies at the time that called for a 375 oven, so I used that and just monitored very carefully. The temp was just fine; was done in about 30 minutes. I agree with the other reviewer who mentioned it is important to make sure that the cookies are no longer jiggly before pulling out. They are very gooey and rich but hold together well. Very easy and very good. I put them in the refrigerator prior to attempting to cut. My only complaint is that I used my pizza cutter to cut them and managed to break the pizza cutter in the process. However, it was a cheap pizza cutter and I do have another, so very little damage was done. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was amazing. My father LOVED it and so did my brother, he wanted to bring an extra batch to work but...they ate them before he could bring them. I'm going to be making them for my family for many more occasions to come. The only thing I did different was to make home-made sugar syrup (i didn't have any dark corn syrup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
These are probably my most requested dessert. Be sure to bake them until the center will no longer move when you shake the pan. Let them cool completely or you will have a mess! They always turn out great and they are SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierJenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is the most delicious (and probably the least healthy) recipe on this website. I've made this quite a few times now, and I'm getting better at it. Bake the bottom layer for only 15 min, or until solid, just don't overcook it. Oh, and don't be afraid that it's so tough to spread over the bottom of the pan; it's meant to be that way, and you haven't done anything wrong. IMPORTANT: These WILL come out gooey. I ALWAYS cook them a day ahead of time and leave them in the fridge overnight BEFORE cutting them up. You can also use just 1 cup of corn syrup without much difference to the recipe. This way, you use exactly half of a bottle of Karo Dark Corn Syrup (8 oz = 1 cup). But still, the full amount will give you the full experience of these bars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I would give this 50 STARS if I could. I'm not even a big Pecan Pie fan but it's my husbands favorite and for his birthday I thought I'd give this a try (he hates cake). This recipe was simple enough so I thought I'd give it a try. I made it exactly as written and it was DELICIOUS! I froze it for about an hour after cooling it from the oven and it cut into bars fairly easily. If the pan makes it through the weekend I will be very suprised!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
MMMMMM.... Didn't last long... need to double batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seneca Rocks, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States