Pecan Pie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BUSYBEE25
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These are so rich and yummy -- and very easy, actually. Have a friend whose staple dessert is pecan pie -- and now I see why, the basic filling is both easy and impressive. I used butter instead of margarine, of course. Not sure butter was soft enough to fold into cake mix, but it all turned out OK. I ended up adding about 8-10 minutes to the second round of baking to get a nice browning on the top. Only other change was that I used about 1.5 cups of pecans just because I had them and because it looked a little sparse with just a cup. Personal preference, really. Would have probably had more of that pecan pie gelatinous feel if without the extra nuts. Advise waiting until these are really cool before cutting. I tried to cut them into bars when they were warm and they're just too sticky. They cut fine once they cooled, though. Also advise cutting into SMALL pieces. These are very rich. My edges got kind of hard and chewy, too -- not sure you can avoid that really -- but I like those pieces best. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very easy to make, the only tough part is waiting for them to cool. You must wait until they are cool in order to cut into neat squares, if not they fall apart. I did add an additional 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and added 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips. Everyone loved them, even the ones that claim they don't like nuts. This is a keeper and feeds a large crowd since they are so rich a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julissa
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Great! I took this to work for a birthday party, and they ate it for breakfast! Now I make it and take it everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
The taste is wonderful. I found the bottom layer of cake a bit hard to spread evenly, but not too bad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Easy and tasty! I brought it for Thanksgiving. We had several pumpkin pies and apple pies. Having the choice of a "bite" of pecan pie was a great hit after a huge meal, but wouldn't be Thanksgiving without it flavor! I got many raves. Brought it to our office potluck just before Christmas and there was nothing left after 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Fantastically delicious! Was surprised how the two layers join together when baking the second time. Would recommend cooling the bottom layer 5 minutes before pouring on top layer. I poured mine the moment it came out of oven and it ripped into the bottom layer. Very good though!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillbert40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
These were so easy and so very good!! Make sure you coat the pan really well or they will stick! after the pan cooled, I put it in the freezer to help firm up the bars a bit and they were great frozen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mardell Mitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I have made this recipe several times in the past, and even traded pecans for raisins... makes it almost like one giant butter tart. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
One of the best 'bars' I've ever made. Similar to cream cheese bars but better! Easy, quick, moist, chewy, rich but not too sweet. A keeper! These bars will become a regular at holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States