Pecan Pie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
made these for a funeral. they came out gooey. i almost didn't bring them and i actually threw the recipe away. i was wrong it was a keeper! Everyone loved them and begged for the recipe. i rated it 4 stars because of the gooieness and i only sorta liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. These were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used light corn syrup as that's all I had. I first tried one after it had cooled & it was good but I thought it lacked sweetness. After sitting overnight, it's pecan pie perfection! Thank you so much! I'll definately be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
wonderful! I doubled pecans as well, and used light corn syrup b/c that's what I had on hand and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
these are now my brother in laws favorite item to request at the holidays. very sweet and tasty. be warned it makes alot be prepared to make several trips to the gym cause they are addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Sexton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These are fantastic!! I doubled the pecans as some reviewers suggested. I only had butter, so I used a cup in the crust. These bars are so rich, they are almost sinful. Delicious! A huge hit at my family Christmas gathering. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
use larger pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I only wanted a small pan of pecan pie bars so I cut this recipe in half and baked it in a 8 x 8 glass dish. In place of 2 T. of butter/margarine I used 6 T. of flaxseed meal. I baked the crust a little longer than called for because it just didn't seem to be baking fast enough. I don't know if that was from the flaxseed meal or what. I only used 2 eggs and added a splash of bourbon. I doubled, chopped and toasted the pecans first. I baked the bars at 275 in a convection oven for about 35 minutes. They are chewy and delicious. I only gave them 4 stars because I don't know if they are the "best" pecan pie bars or not. The flaxseed meal was good and added a little nuttier flavor plus made them a tiny bit healthier. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staramaze
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Tip: I doubled the Pecans... measured them whole and pulsed them in the food processor until they were the right size. I also toasted the Pecans first when they were whole. For the crust, I used all butter... no margarine. I also used 1/2 of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups standard flour and to add some heartiness. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staramaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These were so good! I recommend using 2 cups pecans instead of 1 cup. Also, don't mix them into the filling. Instead sprinkle them evenly on top. This way all the nuts get toasted rather than just baked into the filling. After they cool for a while put them in the fridge for an hour or so. The taste will develop and get even better. I definitely recommend these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States