Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The best ever! As other people stated, these did need to be baked for approx. 15-20 mins longer than suggested (for the final cook time). I simply set my timer for 10 more mins, then another 5, then another 5...checking the bars in between each time adjustment. My husband raved and basically ate 3/4 of a full batch! Saying, "don't make these again any time soon, or I'll eat the whole batch next time" :-) Good enough for me! (3 year old son's take? "too many nuts, Mommy")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momthesaint

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These were a big hit! Second year I've made them for the holidays. Everyone that tried them loved them (especially my husband who is already a big pecan pie fan). I did adjust the recipe to 2 cups flour like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These cookies are really more like candy, very sweet, I cut them into bite size pieces and everyone loved them, I will make them again but will cut the recipe in half as it makes a lot of yummy cookies,,, btw I was short on pecans so I made these with a mix of walnuts and pecans,, it was really good this way,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I just made these bars and they are delicious! I read the reviews especially about the crust might stick to pan. I used the 15X10 glass dish, sprayed it with Pam before I pressed the cookie dough. I raised the crust up on all sides and baked it. I did reduce the syrup to one cup. The bars baked for the full 30 minutes. Let them cool and then cut them up. Since the filling didn't go over the crust, none got stuck to the dish. They lift off easily. My husband loved these bars. I am having to make another batch because we had friends come over and they really helped themselves to these delicious bars. My rating of these bars- 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made these for Thanksgiving rather than a traditional pecan pie. Everyone raved and said they liked it better than pie. The only thing I'll do differently when I make them this week for Christmas is cook the base a little less, maybe 15 minutes, as it was a little darker than I liked, and slightly dry. It could just be my oven. These were also much better the next few days after baking when the filling had time to seep into the crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! I have never made anything pecan before b/c I didn't use to care much for it but wow!! I will include this in my traditional Thanksgiving feast for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were soooo good! Made them for Thanksgiving and they were really well received by our guests. Made exactly as stated only I made in an 11x9 pan since that's what I had. I thought this size pan made them the perfect thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Liked this but I must not have let it cook long enough because it was still very runny in the middle. Threw it back in the oven for another 15 and it came out better. I think i'll cut the flour down next time and definitely let it cook longer next time. It was very tasty though. My husband and the kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These are amazing! I will never make pecan pie again! I made three batches this Thanksgiving because they just kept dissape4aring! I followed the directions exactly, but did bake them slightly longer and baked them in a foil lined pan as the are difficult to remove from pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made these last night to serve as one of my desserts today and I'm thinking I may have to run make another batch. It's all I can do to keep my family out of them! I have one word about this recipe....DELICIOUS! and I didnt change a thing except used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar instead of the 1 1/2 sugar white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Ellenwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States