Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made w/ brown sugar instead of white sugar and cut the recipe in half (using an 8X8 pyrex dish). Also baked 35 minutes instead of what it called for. Oh YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
After reading the reviews, and doing a bit of experimenting, I think I have the final "tweaks" to make this the perfect recipe. Begin by using a bigger pan! The half sheet cake pan with sides is the perfect size...about 13" x 17" x 1 1/4"...no run over! You do have to press down the crust before baking, but there seem to be just the rightr amount of crust for us. I traded out some of the white sugar for brown. 1 cup white sugar plus 1/2 cup dark sugar seems to work well. And one last change, the cooking time. It is way off. I did mine for 45 minutes. It was just starting to bubble around the edges when I took it out, this was also the time it started to brown up a bit. I was worried about how much this recipe yielded, and if it would freeze well. I never got a chance to find out it went so quick! None of the problems of pecan pie, and a protable size. I think this is going to be added to my Thanksgiving menu to cut and send home to sweeten up the leftovers! Excellent recipe - Thanks Marietta for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this exactly and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Awesome! Im sure these are great as is but I used unsalted butter instead of margarine and added 1 cup mini chocolate chips. SOOOOO GOOD! I bake cookies, cakes, and brownies all the time but finding the right timing for a pecan pie type filling is new to me. I have over cooked these and under cooked them at times (still ate them both ways!) but usually just 4 or 5 minutes longer than called for is safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really great recipe. I typed 24 servings in (half the recipe) and used an 8 1/2 x 11 in. cake pan. It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are awesome....def even BETTER with age. The pecan juices soak through the crust in about 2 days and they are to die for. I used butter (as opposed to margerine). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were just OK for us. Nothing spectacular. I don't know that I would make again, but if I did, I probably wouldn't make any deeper than the depth of a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Outstanding! Just like pecan pie in a cookie form! I made it exactly as stated (which I always do the first time I make a recipe). I wouldn't change a thing. I didn't have the jelly roll pan so I made the amount for a 9x13 pan and it worked out well. My oven might be a little warm; I baked it for 50 minutes and I think next time (and there will be a next time) I'll bake a little less time. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely awesome!!! My family loved these and they are super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Cut the recipe in half, placed in a 9 x 9 dish. Worked out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rabcatlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States