Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These were a big hit at Thanksgiving. Everyone preferred these over a traditional pecan pie. I used all butter. The only thing is that these definitely took longer than 25 minutes for them to set with my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These are crazy delicious! It was extremely hard for my husband and I to not gobble them up! Contemplating making more this week just we can have them all to ourselves! As far as making the bars go I halved recipe doing half of the pecans, and the crust mixture (adding a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon AMAZING!), but made 3/4 of the filling, and baked in a 9x13 glass dish. They came out perfectly and I will be making these over and over forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were very yummy! Makes a lot which is great for giving away at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Something is definitely off with this recipe. I followed it to the T and it tasted strange. One tip - the pecans should definitely be coated with honey or another sweet coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a quick and easy recipe. I substiuted splenda for the sugar and added some extra vanilla .I also added an extra cup of pecans and used a 9x13 pan. They were a little thicker and had more of a pecan pie filling layer. I cooked them for about 5 mins extra. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I made it as stated except I only had 1 cup of light corn syrup, so I used dark corn syrup for the other 1/2 cup. I looked through every pan I had, and I don't know how common a 10X15 inch pan is, but I didn't have one. I used a 11X17 inch cookie sheet and lined it with wax paper. It worked out great! It filled to the brim and had a couple drips in the oven bottom, but the end result looked fantastic! I'll definitely make this again, maybe trying 1/4 cup white and a 1/4 cup brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCosgrove83179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used 2 cups of flour instead of 3, but that is the only change I made. I have never had much luck making pecan pie, but this turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These came out perfect with lots of positive feedback. I didn't have a problem with the crust as others have noted. If it was too thick or crumbly your pan may be too small &/or you did not pack the crust down enough before adding the filling. I cooked mine longer- but that was the only change I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
AMAZING! I just made these for Thanksgiving and they are great! I cut the recipe in half, used a 13x9 glass baking dish, and kept the temperature and baking time the same. I also used only butter and used half white sugar and half light brown sugar for the pecan topping. Already cut them up for the holiday, but left the crispy edges for snacking before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I do use a larger pan because I like the crust a little thinner. When I take this anywhere friends ask me for the recipe! Thanks, Marietta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States