Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Mmm. I love pecan pie and it doesn't get any closer to the original unless you go to the effort of making pie crust. I really enjoyed how simple, quick, and tasty these bar cookies were. I did not find it at all runny. You just need to make sure it is set before removing it from the oven. I halfed the recipe both times I have made this and it has turned out great. They are less crumbly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
These were good in their own right, but not really what I had wanted. I was looking for a recipe similar to one that a girlfriend had made for a dinner party at her house. These ended up being quite different. I later found out that her recipe does not have corn syrup in it. But anyway, like I said, very tasty in a different way then what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These are wonderful and turn out perfect every time. Anyone who comes within a foot of these bars demands the recipe. I do substitute turbinado sugar (demerara sugar or raw sugar) which adds a bit of cane flavor and is a little sweeter than white sugar. I use a bit less than what is called for but not much. It adds an extra hint of richness to the pecan flavor. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This turned out wonderfully. There was a comment about it being runny but I did not experience that at all. They were a little mushy until they finished cooling completely but that was to be expected. Once they were cooled, they were easy to slice. They were slightly too sweet for my taste but everyone else thought they were perfect. Many rave reviews from the recipe guinea pigs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Kids absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are excellent - this is the third year I've made these for our annual choir party potluck, and people were WAITING for them. A couple of things... I made 1/2 recipe which fit very nicely into my 8 x 11 pyrex pan. Made 24 nice large bars. I cooked for about 33-35 minutes unstead of 20 and allowed them to set up and cool before cutting - they were not at all runny. If making the recipe as called for in the large pan I'd do 40 minutes. Also, I found that putting each bar on a small cupcake liner paper was very nice for serving them as they can be crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
The crust was very dry but that may have worked out once the filling was placed in it and cooked except that the filling did not bake up well and remained too runny to eat. The top firmed up nicely but underneath that was a very thick liquid that had no shape. I even extended the cooking time a second time by another 15 minutes to see if that would help but it did not and, of course, the crust was overcooked as a result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
They tasted good but did not firm up the way other Pecan Pie bars have that I have made in the past. They were way too soft even after I tried overcooking them and freezing them to firm them up. I ended up having to throw half away sadly because they were just not done well. I have other recipes I like much better for this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simcha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Oh my gosh, these are incredible! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Very easy to make. I didn't have that size pan so I made it in a 9X13 and an 8X8 pan. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States