Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
After reading reviews of these being too sweet and the dough not forming properly, I made some changes to the original recipe and they came out really good in the end. I added a few drops of water to the crust ingredients, which allowed it to form a dough. For the filling I also used 2/3 cup light corn syrup, a little less than one cup of brown sugar, and an ounce of unsweetened chocolate. Since I didn't have all of the pecans on hand, I used a mixture of walnuts and almonds along with the pecans. The pan size requested in the recipe should have been slightly bigger, as there was a small amount of crust and filling that remained, which I ended up throwing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Awesome recipe! I've made them several times for student group things to rave reviews! Per suggestions, I add 1 tsp almond extract to the crust and mix dark and light corn syrup. Have sometimes substituted walnuts (cheaper)...someone who doesn't like walnuts even loved them! I also just sent the link to a friend who's now making them for Thanksgiving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Excellent taste and very easy to make! I was a little worried because they did get a little hard around the edges and it overflowed into my oven when I baked them...but I read in previous reviews that it had happened to other people so that was a relief! I baked them then let them cool, then covered them and cut them the next day. They were so great! Rave reviews from everyone at my party! When you're pouring the filling over the crust, it looks like it will be too much, but it works just great! Will use a disposable pan next time because of the overflow. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
These are sooo tasty! I will make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
WOW! These are really good! I used dark corn syrup because that is all that I. I made half the recipe and cooked the bars for 35 minutes and they were not runny at all. Great recipe, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Mmm. I love pecan pie and it doesn't get any closer to the original unless you go to the effort of making pie crust. I really enjoyed how simple, quick, and tasty these bar cookies were. I did not find it at all runny. You just need to make sure it is set before removing it from the oven. I halfed the recipe both times I have made this and it has turned out great. They are less crumbly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
These were good in their own right, but not really what I had wanted. I was looking for a recipe similar to one that a girlfriend had made for a dinner party at her house. These ended up being quite different. I later found out that her recipe does not have corn syrup in it. But anyway, like I said, very tasty in a different way then what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These are wonderful and turn out perfect every time. Anyone who comes within a foot of these bars demands the recipe. I do substitute turbinado sugar (demerara sugar or raw sugar) which adds a bit of cane flavor and is a little sweeter than white sugar. I use a bit less than what is called for but not much. It adds an extra hint of richness to the pecan flavor. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This turned out wonderfully. There was a comment about it being runny but I did not experience that at all. They were a little mushy until they finished cooling completely but that was to be expected. Once they were cooled, they were easy to slice. They were slightly too sweet for my taste but everyone else thought they were perfect. Many rave reviews from the recipe guinea pigs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Kids absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States