Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am big on only reviewing the EXACT recipe, therefor, I can't comment on the crust as I altered it. But, the filling was awesome! You must use the 10X15 inch jellyroll pan, and measure 2 1/2 cups of pecans CHOPPED. Don't measure before chopping. I am betting that's why everyone had "runny" results. Great alternative to pecan pie, which I find too sweet. Also had no problem with clean up using parchment paper sprayed with a bit of Baker's Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are good. I'm not a big fan of pecan pie but these bars are soo tasty. I couldn't stop eating them. I am making these instead of pecan pie for thanksgiving, along with a pumpkin cheesecake. I added a bit of Bourbon to the filling. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Fantastic. The only issue was the somewhat dry 'crust'. I'm not sure how best to remedy this...perhaps adding an egg or some milk? It was crumbly and very hard to cut. But even as messy as they were, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Halved the recipe. Used walnuts (that's what I had), added 1 tsp. of water and vanilla to crust with a sprinkle of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Used half white sugar and brown sugar, also added a sprinkle of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice to the filling (adds a nice warmth and you can't pinpoint the exact taste). Will use this crust recipe for my pecan pies in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaYvo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
YUM!!! Love pecan pie but not the overly thick filling layer. I love this shortbread crust (made with brown sugar and butter) and the thin layer of filling and lots and lots of pecans. Awesome dessert...and easy on the budget and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These pecan pie bars are fabulous! The crust is delicious and buttery and it came together very quickly. For the filling I substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar to make 1 cup white sugar 1/2 cup brown. I also reserved a 1/2 cup of the pecans and sprinkled them over the top of the finished bars along with 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips. The chocolate was perfect and soft but did not lost its shape. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Awesome! Took to a tailgate party and everyone loved them! I even kinda liked them and I hate pecan pie! Used an 11x15 cake pan and upped the serving size to 40....it called for 4 1/2 eggs so I used 5. Used half sugar, half brown sugar in the filling. Used all salted butter instead of margarine. Got rave reviews--one man said it was not icky sweet but not bland either, just perfect! Used parchment paper. Placed halved pecans on top instead of mixing them in. So pretty. I loved the crust--just like a shortbread cookie! Kind of formed the crust up the sides to hold the filling in. Had to bake for 40 minutes. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I really would rate these at a 3/4 because I have trouble getting them to come out right but Im totally sure that is my fault. Even if I mess them up these taste amazing! I always add mini chocolate chips, not sure if thats messing it up or not. Other than that I just have trouble cooking them right. Sometimes they are still runny, sometimes very hard. I have the same problem with pecan pies. So I know its me but what am I missing? Is there a trick to knowing when they are done!?!? I would love to know because these and chocolate pecan pie are probably my favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
It was good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The only thing I changed was the sugar and the baking time...to about 50 minutes, and even then it had more than a bit of jiggle to it, but it turned out fantastic!! And I used brown sugar instead of white! These were gone so fast. Will definitely be making for holiday get togethers from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States