Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Mine leaked under the crust and made for a kind of hard stickiness around the edges. I'll use parchment paper next time. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made these this morning and will serve them to guests tomorrow.Of course I had to taste them to make sure they were ok to serve. They are great! I made exactly as the recipe stated except I baked the crust 25 minutes before adding the filling and 30 minutes with the filling. I lined my jellyroll pan with foil, leaving it long enough to hang over the edges. That made getting the bars out of the pan easy. I definitely will make these again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
We loved this recipe. I made it with rice flour to be gluten free the first time and I brought it over to my daughters the day before Thanksgiving for out Thanksgiving meal and everyone loved it so much they ate all of it the night before. Now my husband keeps asking me when I am going to make more of the pecan bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Awesome, but bring corn syrup and sugar to a boil before cooling and adding eggs & pecans. Makes it way less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I also forgot to add that I did not change the stated cooking time. I set my oven timer for 25 minutes after baking the crust. After 25 minutes, I checked it and they were perfectly done, slightly wiggly in the center. So had I followed others suggestions of 45 minutes, they would have been crackers. Be sure to test done after 25 minutes as the recipe states and then according to your oven and/or pan size, give em a little longer if the filling is too loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I wish i could give 4 and a half stars. We loved this recipe, but I cannot give a 5 stars because I made a lot of changes to the recipe. I reduced the amount of flour in the crust by half. Also, I put it in a 9x13 pan and not a jelly roll pan. Even then, we would have liked it thicker. Also, as other viewers mentioned it was too hard around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I cut this recipe in half and used an 8" sq. cake pan. The filling took longer to set (cease to jiggle) than the recipe indicated but the results were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by walkmerr
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This can out perfect. Followed the recipe to the T; no overflows and didn't cut back on anything. I used some of the tips that were posted such as toasting my pecans and using brown sugar in the filling. I think this is even better than the Pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkmerr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This turned out really good! I rated it a 4 as written, but my husband would say 5 with changes. They are as follows... I used a roasting pan... About the same size as my jelly roll pan, but higher sides. Parchment paper.... Can't imagine this recipe without it Used 1/3 whole wheat flour, adds more texture to the shortbread and a tiny bit of better nutrition Kept the pecans whole And the biggest and most important.......I added two cups of fresh cranberries. The cranberry addition makes it - cuts through the sweetness perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Tastes good after trimming outside dry edges off. Just can't understand why, if you use the pan size called for, that a cup of filling overflows? I will definelty use a 11x17 jelly roll pan next time for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States