Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I scaled the recipe down to 24 servings as I did not have enough pecans on hand for the full recipe. The crust was was fine and the filling set up nice. The taste was good but not great. My complaint was that it really wasn't sweet enough for a pecan bar and something was missing as far as the taste. Additionally, having scaled down the recipe, i made it in an 8 x 12 and it came out very thin. I would absolutely make the full recipe in a 9 x13 or 8 x 12. No larger than that unless you want a very thin bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
After reviewing others comments, I too changed the serving size to 24; using 3 eggs. In addition I used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar for the filling. I used real butter throughout the recipe :) Thank you Marieta, I will add this to my regular collection of treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodisGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Great flavor, but mine did not set correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were oretty good. Tasted exactly like pecan pie, just cut into bars. Was hoping to be a lil different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
We think these are great! I do not have a jelly roll pan so changed servings to 24 and used a 9x13 pan. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Most important note: use a jelly roll CAKE pan, not a jelly roll cookie sheet. It needs to be deep enough to hold all of the yummy, chewy goodness of these bars. Made as directed, cooked 25 min. And couldn't wait for them to cool completely. Yum! Better than my usual pecan pie, because I can cut them into bars and arrange on a platter, no one will know that I snatched quite a few before I served them! Wasn't sure about using all white sugar in the filling, I think you could go with all white or half white, half brown. Back to devouring these....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am big on only reviewing the EXACT recipe, therefor, I can't comment on the crust as I altered it. But, the filling was awesome! You must use the 10X15 inch jellyroll pan, and measure 2 1/2 cups of pecans CHOPPED. Don't measure before chopping. I am betting that's why everyone had "runny" results. Great alternative to pecan pie, which I find too sweet. Also had no problem with clean up using parchment paper sprayed with a bit of Baker's Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are good. I'm not a big fan of pecan pie but these bars are soo tasty. I couldn't stop eating them. I am making these instead of pecan pie for thanksgiving, along with a pumpkin cheesecake. I added a bit of Bourbon to the filling. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Fantastic. The only issue was the somewhat dry 'crust'. I'm not sure how best to remedy this...perhaps adding an egg or some milk? It was crumbly and very hard to cut. But even as messy as they were, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Halved the recipe. Used walnuts (that's what I had), added 1 tsp. of water and vanilla to crust with a sprinkle of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Used half white sugar and brown sugar, also added a sprinkle of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice to the filling (adds a nice warmth and you can't pinpoint the exact taste). Will use this crust recipe for my pecan pies in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaYvo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States