Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used a larger sized jelly-roll pan and they came out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made these for Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe and added about a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. Everyone loved them. These went faster than the pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious. Made for Thanksgiving, was a big hit. Per other reviews adhered to following suggestions. Toast pecans at 300 for 10 mins Half brown sugar Half white sugar Don't grease pan, line with parchment paper - Bake w/topping 30 mins - rotate halfway thru - When jiggles a lil but is mostly firm should be done Cool 30 mins, fridge overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made Substitutions. I baked it on a 10 x 13 cookie sheet with sides & it barely fit when I pressed the crust really hard in the middle and sides to make a well for the pecan filling. Per other reviewers, I lined my pan with the new nonstick foil before pressing the crust in & it worked perfectly! I used 3 C. of pecan halves instead of 2.5 C. chopped, used half brown sugar instead of white (in both the crust and topping) & 1/2 cup of Thick n Rich real maple syrup (hard to get a hold of, but they use invert maple sugar which makes it almost as thick as corn syrup)to replace 1/2 cup of corn syrup. (You could probably get away with regular real maple syrup but I used Splenda brown for the brown sugar in the filling and was afraid I might not have enough stickiness if I used thin syrup.) I had watched a Test Kitchen episode where their final product contained maple syrup and brown sugar, hence my substitutions. I'm diabetic so that's why I replaced some of the sugar with Splenda. Anyway, I baked it about 45 minutes in a cooler (325 degree) oven until it was no longer jiggly. However, I did take it immediately to a super-cold surface in the garage (which serves as our secondary refrigerator in the winter.) It was about 40 degrees out there, so it didn't continue to cook much. Once cooled I stored it in the house at room temp because if you served it cold you might crack a tooth! :) The flavor was excellent! The flavor, texture and appearance were all quite lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by girlpower
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe! These bars taste just like pecan pie! A holiday hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpower

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Perfection :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Whoooo baby, these are oh so yummy! Like others, I scaled the recipe to 24 servings and used a 9x13-inch pan. Used plenty of cooking spray and had no sticking problems. I used all brown sugar in the crust since that's how I make my shortbread, and half white/half brown sugar in the filling. Added a splash of maple extract to the filling and otherwise followed the directions as is. Even used the same cooking times in the original recipe. They were jiggly when I removed them from the oven but they set up beautifully -- no need to cook until they don't jiggle. Oh, and I did toast the pecans in the oven ahead of time. That's just standard practice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I love this recipe I followed it exactly but instead of using spray I used parchment paper to line the pan before I cooked the base mixture. I did have to cook the mixture another 5 min . I let them cool 10 min on a wire rack in the pan and then I grabbed the parchment paper and pulled them out of the pan to cool the additional time .....they are rich and good .....thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This needs to be done in a smaller pan instead of a big cookie sheet. Husband loved it but I like more of a pecan pie filling... So cooking it in a smaller pan would help a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made these for a Thanksgiving desert, because a pecan pie just had too many calories. Now my inlaws expect me to bring to every get together. I've even made a batch for my daughter and her fiance to take home to North Carolina. Everybody loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States