Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
We loved this recipe. I made it with rice flour to be gluten free the first time and I brought it over to my daughters the day before Thanksgiving for out Thanksgiving meal and everyone loved it so much they ate all of it the night before. Now my husband keeps asking me when I am going to make more of the pecan bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Awesome, but bring corn syrup and sugar to a boil before cooling and adding eggs & pecans. Makes it way less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I also forgot to add that I did not change the stated cooking time. I set my oven timer for 25 minutes after baking the crust. After 25 minutes, I checked it and they were perfectly done, slightly wiggly in the center. So had I followed others suggestions of 45 minutes, they would have been crackers. Be sure to test done after 25 minutes as the recipe states and then according to your oven and/or pan size, give em a little longer if the filling is too loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I wish i could give 4 and a half stars. We loved this recipe, but I cannot give a 5 stars because I made a lot of changes to the recipe. I reduced the amount of flour in the crust by half. Also, I put it in a 9x13 pan and not a jelly roll pan. Even then, we would have liked it thicker. Also, as other viewers mentioned it was too hard around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I cut this recipe in half and used an 8" sq. cake pan. The filling took longer to set (cease to jiggle) than the recipe indicated but the results were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by walkmerr
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This can out perfect. Followed the recipe to the T; no overflows and didn't cut back on anything. I used some of the tips that were posted such as toasting my pecans and using brown sugar in the filling. I think this is even better than the Pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkmerr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This turned out really good! I rated it a 4 as written, but my husband would say 5 with changes. They are as follows... I used a roasting pan... About the same size as my jelly roll pan, but higher sides. Parchment paper.... Can't imagine this recipe without it Used 1/3 whole wheat flour, adds more texture to the shortbread and a tiny bit of better nutrition Kept the pecans whole And the biggest and most important.......I added two cups of fresh cranberries. The cranberry addition makes it - cuts through the sweetness perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Tastes good after trimming outside dry edges off. Just can't understand why, if you use the pan size called for, that a cup of filling overflows? I will definelty use a 11x17 jelly roll pan next time for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These were simply awesome - I did half brown sugar in the filling and used foil, I pull the foil out of the pan right when the came out of the oven and kind of separated the bars. The were still a little soft in the middle, but firmed up nicely when cooled. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just made these today and am very disappointed in them. They are not thick enough and moist enough for my liking. I found them a bit too dry. I did follow the recipe exactly with the exception of using half brown sugar and half white sugar and I used butter rather than margarine as another viewer suggested. I would suggest not baking them for as long as it says - 25 minutes seems too long. I used my large pampered chef bar pan as some one else had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States