Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe EXACTLY, even using shortening to lightly grease my 10x15 jelly roll pan . 1st) the crust is too flourly and not buttery at all. I actually think it was about 2x more flour then needed; it needed about 1/2 cup more sugar at least to improve the taste. 2nd) the filling was a nice taste but really nothing special. It set okay but I was displeased with the foamy appearance. 3rd) the cooking time in the recipe is not correct as others have stated in their reviews as well; I would up the cooking time once you add the filling to 30 min on 350, but again be mindful to not burn your pecans or overdry the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItzAmazingAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used parchment paper but forgot to spray it with PAM and it stuck like crazy!! People loved them though and I keep getting asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
A favorite in our home! they didn't last long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent!! I followed the recipe exactly except baked for 24 servings and used wax paper on a 9x13 pan and it came out perfect. Be sure and check at 25 minutes, mine were done. But several reviewers said it took longer. I am glad I didn't cook longer they would have been ruined. Tip, after baking put in refrigerator to cool then they will cut into pretty squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this recipe according to the recipe but they stuck so bad that I was unable to make nice squares. I want to try again, but I will try either a non-stick pan or maybe parchment paper. They were extremely good just not presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were gooey yummy. Maybe almost too sweet, but so good. They were a much easier replacement for pecan pie. We couldn't stop eating them, but gained a few pounds so next time I make these I'm going to play with it a little and exchange agave nectar for the corn syrup. Definitely making them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaladez3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very rich, easy to make, similar to pecan pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These bars are incredible. I had to put them in another room so I would stop eating them. I used parchment paper as...you have to use this! Makes it soooo much easier! Also, it takes much longer to cook then 25 mins. I’m not sure if that was a typo in the recipe or not but I cooked mine for almost 60. I used a 9 x 13 and will definately use a larger pan next time! You won’t be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I scaled the recipe down to 24 servings as I did not have enough pecans on hand for the full recipe. The crust was was fine and the filling set up nice. The taste was good but not great. My complaint was that it really wasn't sweet enough for a pecan bar and something was missing as far as the taste. Additionally, having scaled down the recipe, i made it in an 8 x 12 and it came out very thin. I would absolutely make the full recipe in a 9 x13 or 8 x 12. No larger than that unless you want a very thin bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
After reviewing others comments, I too changed the serving size to 24; using 3 eggs. In addition I used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar for the filling. I used real butter throughout the recipe :) Thank you Marieta, I will add this to my regular collection of treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodisGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States