Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very rich, easy to make, similar to pecan pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These bars are incredible. I had to put them in another room so I would stop eating them. I used parchment paper as...you have to use this! Makes it soooo much easier! Also, it takes much longer to cook then 25 mins. I’m not sure if that was a typo in the recipe or not but I cooked mine for almost 60. I used a 9 x 13 and will definately use a larger pan next time! You won’t be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I scaled the recipe down to 24 servings as I did not have enough pecans on hand for the full recipe. The crust was was fine and the filling set up nice. The taste was good but not great. My complaint was that it really wasn't sweet enough for a pecan bar and something was missing as far as the taste. Additionally, having scaled down the recipe, i made it in an 8 x 12 and it came out very thin. I would absolutely make the full recipe in a 9 x13 or 8 x 12. No larger than that unless you want a very thin bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
After reviewing others comments, I too changed the serving size to 24; using 3 eggs. In addition I used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar for the filling. I used real butter throughout the recipe :) Thank you Marieta, I will add this to my regular collection of treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodisGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Great flavor, but mine did not set correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were oretty good. Tasted exactly like pecan pie, just cut into bars. Was hoping to be a lil different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
We think these are great! I do not have a jelly roll pan so changed servings to 24 and used a 9x13 pan. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Most important note: use a jelly roll CAKE pan, not a jelly roll cookie sheet. It needs to be deep enough to hold all of the yummy, chewy goodness of these bars. Made as directed, cooked 25 min. And couldn't wait for them to cool completely. Yum! Better than my usual pecan pie, because I can cut them into bars and arrange on a platter, no one will know that I snatched quite a few before I served them! Wasn't sure about using all white sugar in the filling, I think you could go with all white or half white, half brown. Back to devouring these....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am big on only reviewing the EXACT recipe, therefor, I can't comment on the crust as I altered it. But, the filling was awesome! You must use the 10X15 inch jellyroll pan, and measure 2 1/2 cups of pecans CHOPPED. Don't measure before chopping. I am betting that's why everyone had "runny" results. Great alternative to pecan pie, which I find too sweet. Also had no problem with clean up using parchment paper sprayed with a bit of Baker's Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are good. I'm not a big fan of pecan pie but these bars are soo tasty. I couldn't stop eating them. I am making these instead of pecan pie for thanksgiving, along with a pumpkin cheesecake. I added a bit of Bourbon to the filling. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States