Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is an excellent recipe, easy and quick when you need to take something to a party. Took it to my family thanksgiving, and even the picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed thisbut I have to say I wasn't impressed with the crust. I found it way too crumbly and it fell apart when i took the pieces out of the pan. I tried it again but with adding and extra 1/2 cup of butter and it was much better that time. I works great with raisans instead of pecans which is what I did when I made it the second time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These were great, I've made them twice. What I did differently that worked better? The 1st time I made them the filling ran under the crust and made about 1/4 of the bars inedible. So the 2nd time I made them I made a 1 and 1/2 recipe of the crust and made sure it went up the sides of the jelly roll pan to keep the filling on top. I do like crust so a little extra wasn't a problem for me. (I used parchment paper underneath both times). I also used walnuts instead of pecans (it's what I had on hand), and called them walnut tart bars, or something like that. Everyone at Christmas parties and at work loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
When I make a recipe, I rate it how the people I make it for like it. I used these bars in cookie gift plates this year. I am a pecan pie lover! but, I did not like the crust. The 9x13 pan makes the crust too thick and I was careful to press it into the pan. I also followed the advice of others and used parchment paper. This helped with the sticking but as the bars were cooking, they did bubble a bit and the edges seemed to caramalize. As a result, I could not use the edges because they were too hard and chewy. If i make these again, I will use a bigger pan to spread the crust out a bit as well as the parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious! Took other users suggestion and did 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and cooked for about 35 min.. I preferred the juicier middle pieces so next time will probably only cook for 30 min. Many rave reviews! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Awesome... there is no better as far as I'm concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakedbyjen
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Given I was not familiar at all with this recipe, I followed it to a T (well, except for using butter). AMAZING! Was afraid of it being overly sweet but it wasn't. I did make quite a mess with overflow which I think can be avoided if I hung the parchment paper/foil over the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My husband says he hates Pecan Pie but had to try these because they looked so good. Begged me to bake another batch and is one of his new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is absolutely to DIE for! There are not words to describe how delicious these are. Sweetness is exactly perfect. I used a little bit of Splenda 1/2 cup in place of 1/2 cup sugar and for half of the flour I used white whole wheat flour. I don't think this changes the flavor at all, but makes me feel a little better about how many of them I eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Fantastic! Pecan pie flavor without being overwhelmingly sweet, as crust to filling ratio is about 50-50. Hint: don't bake in stoneware as sides will overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States