Pecan Pie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made these for an early Thanksgiving dinner last week because I have been craving pecan pie! I decided to do bars this year that taste like our favorite pies and desserts so everyone could have a little square of each without being overly full! I cut down to 24 servings and used a 9x13 lined with parchment. This made for really easy cutting/cleanup! For the crust, I did as other reviewers did and used half white/brown sugar. I also used real butter for a true shortbread flavor. I also used 3/4 c. dark and 3/4 c. light corn syrup in the filling for richness and also used real butter. Used whole pecans, which I did not toast, they had nice toasted flavor from baking. Excellent-will never go back to pie because I loved the shortbread crust! I am sure I will make these often because I love pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These were so good! I made a 12 serving dish - which turned out to be an 8x8 baker - and am so glad I did. I made no changes except the 1/2 brown sugar substitute in the crust. Will definitely be making again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was an excellant alternative to a pecan pie. And it's not as sicky sweet as a pie. This recipe got so many compliments. I lined my pan with foil and left the foil about 2 inches higher on the edges, then sprayed it and had no problem getting them out. I followed the directions exactly. I thought it looked like I baked it too long but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were a hit!!! they are like little pecan pies. I sisnt have any corn syrup so I makde my own and added the syrup to the mix a little to hot, I thought I ruined it. the syrup was very stretchy!! lol but after bakin in the oven it all came toether and they were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Amazing!! The shortbread crust really makes these bars, I did as others had suggested and used 1/2 sugar , 1/2 brown sugar and used real butter in place of margarine, I also used parchment paper. I will be making these over and over, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Perfect!!! I did use brown sugar in the filling and it is essential to cook it for about 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsis144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Tastes just like pecan pie and is much easier:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These were a HUGE hit! I followed the recipe as written and they turned out so yummy. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I thought these were good. Really sweet! I was excited to serve these at Christmas becuase we have some Pecan Pie fans, but I still had a lot left over. I might make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States