Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I used 3/4 cup dark corn syrup and 1/4 cup light corn syrup. I also added 1/4 cup more pecans - and folded them into the batter instead. Baked in the oven for about 80 minutes before it was almost set, turned off the oven and kept the pie in the oven with the door closed to continue "cooking" until it was completely set. I paired this recipe with the Easy Pie Crust by Louise (from this site). The crust (with minor alterations) was fabulous; however, the pecan pie was mediocre and disappointing. I will try other highly rated recipes in the future... I believe brown sugar would have improved the flavor a bit versus white sugar. If you're a pecan pie lover, this recipe will disappoint. Nevertheless, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Lost my recipe box with my favorite pecan pie recipe & found it here. This is THE BEST pecan pie recipe. A couple of hints: you can substitute light corn syrup-in fact I usually use the light. If you are using a "deep dish" pie crust, you need to increase the filling amount- easy to do with the all recipes conversion - I increased servings to 9 & used 4 eggs. You don't have to lay pecans on the bottom of the crust,just fold into the batter-it works fine. Pecans- I chop some & leave some halved. I also omit vanilla. The real trick is the cooking time - this comes with practice; if it's runny inside, it didn't cook long enough. If I'm sometimes not sure, I'll cook a few minutes more to be safe- especially with a deep dish crust.You learn to recognize when the pie is "set" on top. Hope these hints help - this is my favorite recipe & I've been cooking it for 25+ years & my Mom before me. Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Vernia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
The taste was okay, but this pie just didn't turn out as well as I expected. Maybe it was something I did wrong. I followed the recipe, but I had difficult time removing pieces of it from the pan. The crust stuck to the pan. I used a frozen pie crust and maybe there was something wrong with it. I will give this recipe another try, if I ever bake another pecan pie. This is the second time I've baked one and both times it went wrong. I'm not a bad baker. My sweet potatoe pies and cheesecakes turn out fine. I guess I just need more practice. Ah, well. The taste was at least a 4 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was soooo easy! And delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
i had never made pecan pies because i thought they were hard. EVERYONE loved these. i used light corn syrup instead of dark. of course, i also think the pecans make a big difference, i had a whole bag of delicious shelled pecans given to me, so i decided to try this. it was all wonderful and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made two for Thanksgiving and cooked for the time on recipe and temp. and they where not done inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Very excellent!!! The easiest pecan pie I've ever made and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I made this for hubby today as a surprise since he has taken such good care of me while I have been sick. This set up really, really well and to be so easy to put together it turned out wonderfully! I think it actually rates a 4.5 in taste but because of ease it rates a 5. I would not hesitate to take this to any event. Thank you for the post! Oh, like a previous reviewer, my pie was done in 50 minutes; be careful to watch yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I can't believe how easy this was! It tasted great too, even though I used walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Quick and easy (a must for busy moms) enjoyed by the entire family. Reduced the cooking time by 10 minutes(50 minutes instead of 1 hour) was perfectly baked when removed from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States