Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
AND THE WINNER IS...Jackie's Pecan Pie!! When I saw the picture that Mummy took, I've got to tell you, it was like stepping back in time! My mama's cooking was like dying and going to Heaven, no lie! In our family, she gave her recipe for dressing--yep y'all, in the South, we don't call it stuffing--and her pecan pie only to me. I thought I had it memorized until my last pecan pie proved me wrong! I've searched far and wide for something even close to hers and not until I saw Jackie's recipe and Mummy's picture of the finished product did I realize my search was over--that and a little help from reading Jackie's recipe of course!! Thank U, Thank U, Thank U, Jackie!!! I just finished making it, its cooled, its now 7:15 a.m. here in Richmond VA and I've already polished off 2 slices!! Ok, 2 and a "sliver" more! ;o) What a GREAT way to start my Sunday!! Its absolutely, hands down, incredibly DELISH!!!---HEADS UP BAKER'S TIP---Can y'all get "KING SYRUP" in your grocery store? There is only 1 kind and "King Syrup" is the name of it. Its a cross between light and dark Karo syrup and wonderful! It will make any pecan pie FLAWLESS when syrup is called for in the recipe. I do have ONE EXCEPTION to Jackie's recipe and that is to test my pie for "readiness" I always insert the knife into its center not the rim. Jackie, again, thank you thank you so very much for posting this as it brought back some really wonderful memories of my Mama and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Oh my gosh, this pie is wonderful and very easy to make. I forgot to layer the pecans on the bottom of the pie crust so I added them right before putting the pie in the oven. A very pretty pie that has a rich and creamy custard texture filling. Only baked for 50 minutes and used a store bought refrigerated pie crust. Thank you for a great recipe that will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I used 3/4 cup dark corn syrup and 1/4 cup light corn syrup. I also added 1/4 cup more pecans - and folded them into the batter instead. Baked in the oven for about 80 minutes before it was almost set, turned off the oven and kept the pie in the oven with the door closed to continue "cooking" until it was completely set. I paired this recipe with the Easy Pie Crust by Louise (from this site). The crust (with minor alterations) was fabulous; however, the pecan pie was mediocre and disappointing. I will try other highly rated recipes in the future... I believe brown sugar would have improved the flavor a bit versus white sugar. If you're a pecan pie lover, this recipe will disappoint. Nevertheless, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Lost my recipe box with my favorite pecan pie recipe & found it here. This is THE BEST pecan pie recipe. A couple of hints: you can substitute light corn syrup-in fact I usually use the light. If you are using a "deep dish" pie crust, you need to increase the filling amount- easy to do with the all recipes conversion - I increased servings to 9 & used 4 eggs. You don't have to lay pecans on the bottom of the crust,just fold into the batter-it works fine. Pecans- I chop some & leave some halved. I also omit vanilla. The real trick is the cooking time - this comes with practice; if it's runny inside, it didn't cook long enough. If I'm sometimes not sure, I'll cook a few minutes more to be safe- especially with a deep dish crust.You learn to recognize when the pie is "set" on top. Hope these hints help - this is my favorite recipe & I've been cooking it for 25+ years & my Mom before me. Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Vernia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
The taste was okay, but this pie just didn't turn out as well as I expected. Maybe it was something I did wrong. I followed the recipe, but I had difficult time removing pieces of it from the pan. The crust stuck to the pan. I used a frozen pie crust and maybe there was something wrong with it. I will give this recipe another try, if I ever bake another pecan pie. This is the second time I've baked one and both times it went wrong. I'm not a bad baker. My sweet potatoe pies and cheesecakes turn out fine. I guess I just need more practice. Ah, well. The taste was at least a 4 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was soooo easy! And delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
i had never made pecan pies because i thought they were hard. EVERYONE loved these. i used light corn syrup instead of dark. of course, i also think the pecans make a big difference, i had a whole bag of delicious shelled pecans given to me, so i decided to try this. it was all wonderful and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made two for Thanksgiving and cooked for the time on recipe and temp. and they where not done inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Very excellent!!! The easiest pecan pie I've ever made and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States