Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This recipe tasted ok, but turned out very ugly and when I made the second time I stirred the ingredients rather than beat them and it turned out a little better, not so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnabellee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Wow. This pie is AWESOME! --For those who don't want to read the whole review; either up the cooking time or the temp and use a cream cheese crust.-- The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the same reason some one else stated: the cooking time was off. I couldn't even tell you how long it really took. At 350, I know it took over 75 minutes. After that I just tossed it back in the oven and checked it once in awhile. As for the flavor, it was closer to 10 stars! I've only made a couple of Pecan Pies before, but this one was the best. My hubby, a self proclaimed pecan pie disliker, mmm'd and ohhhhh'd and wowww'd during the entire piece. A friend of ours said it was the best pecan pie he'd ever had, and promises to be here for Christmas as long as I make that pie. To the pie's credit, I recommend baking it in a Cream Cheese crust. It gave it a yummy cookie type taste. The pie reminded me of my mom's pecan balls that she makes during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie was perfect in flavor and texture. I had no problems with it setting up and think that perhaps those that did, didn't let it bake long enough maybe. I added an extra 1/2 cup of pecans and I used chopped nuts. I didn't have any dark corn syrup so I used light corn syrup and 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white. I used an 8" deep pie pan and it filled it up nicely. I will look no further for a pecan pie recipe, this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This pie was just like Mother's. I made 4 and gave them to neighbors! Then I made one using sugar free syrup so my diabetic neighbor could enjoy. A regular pie crust is needed because it only fills a deep dish crust half full. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had also lost this recipe and was so happy to have found it again. It is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Wow, this was easy as pie! OK, bad joke but it really was. I listened to the other reviewers and only kept it in the oven for 50 min. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
We used light corn syrup and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love to Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
First pecan pie I made and it was a HUGE hit! I used the light corn syrup as someone else suggested. Will make again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
this recipe was very sweet.I dont know if i did anything wrong, as this was my first attempt at a pecan pie, but it did not set well. i will try this recipe again using over reviews of adding corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This did not come out of the pan once baked. Very gooey. I agree with the other reviewers who said that it has to bake longer than recipe states. I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States