Pecan Nut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was delicious and went extremely well with our toffee-flavored pie filling. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Makes about double what is needed for a 9" crust. When I pressed it into the pan it made a crust about 1/3 to 1/2 of an inch thick, which reduced the volume of pie filling significantly. Good flavor otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Put this over vanilla strawberry walnut pie-was a hit! Plan to use it on various fruit pies & cobblers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have quite enough pecans so I threw in some walnuts and pulsed them together in the food processor. I used only 2T of butter and also used a 9x13 pan instead of the pie plate. It was perfect size. Baked for about 12 min. Went over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My brother-in-law is on a gluten free diet and because of that he doesn't get to enjoy a lot of the holiday desserts he once did. I used this recipe for my pumpkin pie adding a half-cup of all purpose gluten free flour to absorb some of the oils from the pecans and butter as yooper63 did. It was glorious. Everyone loved my pumpkin pie, especially my brother-in-law. I will try it next as a crust for my cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wonderful! I omitted the cinnamon because of the flavour of pie I was filling it with. When I first put the crust mixture in the pie plate, it looked like it would be much too thick, but once I shaped it and pressed it in as hard as I could, it was perfect. I did not pre-bake the crust. I filled it with the Key Lime Pie VII recipe from this site (this made it GLUTEN-FREE) and baked it as per that recipe. It is much less sweet than a graham crust, which is awesome with a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but something was off. I had way too much for one pie pan and there was way, way too much butter. I love the concept of this as a gluten-free crust so I'll keep playing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I'd ground up a bunch of pecans and was 1/2 cup short, so I made up the difference with almond meal. This is a great crust for gluten free diets and Passover. I skipped the cinnamon when I made an icebox key lime pie. It was a big hit. I will use this again for pumpkin pie and include the cinnamon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I did half pecans and half almonds and increased the butter a little. Very good with cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
It was a little oily, make sure to put another pan under your pie pan to keep from a messy oven. With the price of pecans this was quite expensive, but well worth it. All of that set aside, it went wonderful with my turtle pecan cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren_x3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States