Pecan Nut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
I'm so glad to find a gluten-free pie crust. My family (even my 9 year old) loved it. We made key lime pie and the combo was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Very yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
good recipe! I used splenda instead of sugar to make it low carb. it was great for a pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I used slenda instead of sugar. We are on a low sugar diet. The flavor was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Very good, I used it for a Libby's pumpkin pie (recipe on can of pumpkin). Was a great tasty subtitute for the flour crust since I'm on a low carb diet. Like the other reviewers, I used Splenda for the sugar. Only reason I'm rating it 4 stars is because it came out a little too thick even in my huge 9" pie dish. Just use it a bit at a time as you build the crust and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I used this crust as an alternative for a graham cracker crust for pumpkin cheesecake. The flavour was wonderful, but I found it a bit soft. I'll definitely use the crust again and I don't think I'll increase the baking time, but I might use a bit less butter to compensate for the natural oils in the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Delicious! I didn't grind the pecans really fine and I liked it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHISPAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Good recipe. I like it better though with 1/2 cup flour added and 1/3 cup Splenda BROWN sugar. The flour will soak up the greasiness of the butter. I just chop the pecans. This crust is awesome with pineapple cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Okay, first of all if you are debating whether to try this...DO IT!! It is so good. I pulsed my pecans in my food processer until they were broken up but not completely ground. I used the amounts called for with everything except the butter. I just added enough to moisten the crust, but not drench it. The nuts have natural oils that come out during baking. Don't forget to refridgerated this before baking, because it really helps hold it together. I used this for a cheesecake recipe, and let me tell you, it got RAVE reviews!! And the best part is, that there is no flour and so it is gluten free...perfect for my mother in law with celiac. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnie may

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I used a mixture of almond and hazelnut flour and increased butter a bit. This is a fantastic recipe that can be altered easily for low-carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States