Pecan Nut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
absolutely wonderful! made the following subs: 3tbs butter, 1 large egg, 1.5c pecans and 1/2c whole wheat flour. baked for 5min to set before filling with pumpkin pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I used this crust recipe for pumpkin cheesecake. I could have eaten the crust by itself. I used three T of butter instead of four, because of the oils in the pecans. It's almost like a praline crust and the cheesecake complimented it perfectly. I also refridgerated it for about 4 hours before I baked it becasue I unexpectedly had to leave the house. I usually use graham cracker crusts for my cheesecake but since this holds up to being filled without crumbling, this is my go to crust now! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilmarnock, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
OH WOW! This is SO incredibly easy and I liked it better than a wheat crust! I have been looking for a dairy and gluten free pie crust for my son. I made this crust dairy free by using coconut oil in place of the butter. I baked the crust for about 8 mins at 350, and let it cool. THen I filled it with a gluten/casein free pumpkin filling. I was afraid the nut crust might burn (it was starting to smell that way) so I placed a piece of foil shiny side down under it and a strip of foil shiny side out around it. It worked like a charm! The crust came out perfectly! I highly recommend this recipe. Even a beginner can make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I was really happy with this crust. I used almond meal from Trader Joes but kept the rest of the recipe the same. I think it definitely needed the full 4 Tbls of butter to keep it together. The edges were a little crumbly so I was worried it wouldn't come out of the pan but it did. I used it to make a fresh strawberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glutenfreevegan
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
this crust rocks. it could be a cookie, a cream pie crust, an icecream cake bottom. I used brown sugar and finely chopped pecans from a bag plus earth balance instead of butter. and I put in cardamom insead of cinnamon. it was flipping awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This wasn't too bad. Filled it with pumpkin pie filling. It stuck to my pan something fierce and broke all apart when serving. But, the taste was awesome and I went behind with a spoon when all the pie was gone, to clean up all the crust that had stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very good crust - It is gluten free so I have used this crust for passover recipe. I used almonds in place of pecans - that is what I had. I also substituted 1 egg for the butter. It held the crust together and the almonds gave the crust a nice subtle buttery taste. I filled it with a strawberry sauce and sliced strawberries! It looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thesweetestlove
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Thanks for a great low carb option. We used this with the double layer cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I used a mixture of almond and hazelnut flour and increased butter a bit. This is a fantastic recipe that can be altered easily for low-carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Okay, first of all if you are debating whether to try this...DO IT!! It is so good. I pulsed my pecans in my food processer until they were broken up but not completely ground. I used the amounts called for with everything except the butter. I just added enough to moisten the crust, but not drench it. The nuts have natural oils that come out during baking. Don't forget to refridgerated this before baking, because it really helps hold it together. I used this for a cheesecake recipe, and let me tell you, it got RAVE reviews!! And the best part is, that there is no flour and so it is gluten free...perfect for my mother in law with celiac. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnie may

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States