Pecan Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe. More of a pecan butter than a jam though. I did add about a tablespoon of honey to the mix, to help with the consistency, and it added a nice flavor. Very good on toast or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
AWESOME!!! Folks...if you dont let the sugar dissolve and then simmer the mixture for at least ONE FULL MINUTE, of course you will end up with a gloopy mess...the full minute of simmering ensures that every grain of sugar is dissolved...if even ONE grain remains undissolved, it will go grainy again once it cools off...think making candy/fudge ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Yum....Reminds me of pecan pies like Mom used to make! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Tasty, unique, and successful. To avoid a grainy sugary mess, cook until sugar is dissolved and ingredients are well combined, as indicated in the recipe. To avoid making toffee...well...don't let it boil, as indicated in the recipe, and especially not to hard crack stage, which any seasoned candy maker will tell you is the only way possible to turn sugar into hard candy. I would have given this only 4 stars because I did find it a little too spicy (and I love spicy stuff), but I thought an extra star was in order to help balance poor reviews from reviewers who could not possibly have followed the recipe to a tee considering their stated end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I don't understand the negative reviews some have submitted. This recipe is DELICIOUS! I've made it for gifts and the recipients are absolutely raving about it. It does set up a little on the thick side, but if you warm it in the microwave for 15-20 secs. it's perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
this tastes lovely, very thick though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this for my husband who loves pecan pie {I don't like it at all}. He LOVES it! He said it's like having pie on his toast. His favorite is on wheat biscuits. Was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custar, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milton Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I attempted to make this recipe exactly as described... and the sugar was not dissolving for anything... so I took the liberty to add another two tablespoons butter and 1/4 cup apple juice, then simmered on low (not medium) stirring incessantly.... MAGNIFIQUE! It is creamy and crunchy and rich and spicy... and everything I love in an evening snack. If anything, this recipe is a great base for what you can turn into your favorite spread...yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEQUOTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This did not go quite as planned...... I cooked it trying to get the sugar to dissolve, but alas, it did not! I tried adding water to thin it down a little but still no luck. So, I just put it into some jars and in the fridge. I thought maybe I would try it on vanilla ice cream....... to die for! Even though it was grainy, it was still crunchy and wonderful flavor. I will make this again. Who knows, maybe it will turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Darn. I was hoping the "sugary mess" syndrome" would not afflict my jam: alas, I am left with a jar of streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kind*machine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savoy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States