Pecan Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Tasty, unique, and successful. To avoid a grainy sugary mess, cook until sugar is dissolved and ingredients are well combined, as indicated in the recipe. To avoid making toffee...well...don't let it boil, as indicated in the recipe, and especially not to hard crack stage, which any seasoned candy maker will tell you is the only way possible to turn sugar into hard candy. I would have given this only 4 stars because I did find it a little too spicy (and I love spicy stuff), but I thought an extra star was in order to help balance poor reviews from reviewers who could not possibly have followed the recipe to a tee considering their stated end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This was a disastrous recipe for me. I made this jam based on the good review it had. I have been cooking for years and knew that if it turned out well for someone else, then it would for me too. Alas, it was awful. I followed the recipe to a tee and ended up with toffee, not jam! I am now experimenting with making more, but adding water, and not cooking it so long. The last batch I experimented with was almost perfect. As soon as I figure out exactly how much water and how long to cook, I will post the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I don't understand the negative reviews some have submitted. This recipe is DELICIOUS! I've made it for gifts and the recipients are absolutely raving about it. It does set up a little on the thick side, but if you warm it in the microwave for 15-20 secs. it's perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very odd recipe. First I was intrigued by it; Then I read the reviews and was almost intimidated by it; Decided to give it a go anyway; While cooking it, I thought I had made a terrible mistake (as it was a grainy lumpy mass in my pan and I tried to stir it while letting it get hot enough to dissolve the sugar but not hot enough for it to boil); finally I added a bit more butter and some water to it--so the sugar would have something to dissolve into; Finally I had something that resembled jam!...however my success was short lived. After canning it and cooling it, it's returned to the crumbly sugary state it was before adding the water. Clearly there has got to be some liquid missing in this recipe? I found another one on another site I will try...its basically the same recipe with the addition of 1/2 C apple juice.) For what it's worth, it tasted fantastic before it cooled and hardened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Yum....Reminds me of pecan pies like Mom used to make! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
AWESOME!!! Folks...if you dont let the sugar dissolve and then simmer the mixture for at least ONE FULL MINUTE, of course you will end up with a gloopy mess...the full minute of simmering ensures that every grain of sugar is dissolved...if even ONE grain remains undissolved, it will go grainy again once it cools off...think making candy/fudge ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe. More of a pecan butter than a jam though. I did add about a tablespoon of honey to the mix, to help with the consistency, and it added a nice flavor. Very good on toast or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I followed the directions as written and was so disappointed. It came out crumbly like apple crum topping. I was so looking forward to a jam like consistancy. I wonder if maybe there are some ingregients missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this for my husband who loves pecan pie {I don't like it at all}. He LOVES it! He said it's like having pie on his toast. His favorite is on wheat biscuits. Was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custar, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milton Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was an odd recipe - I was sooo excited to try it, but disappointed by the results. I wasn't sure what the final consistancy was supposed to be. The picture looks transluscent, but mine was very fudge like, tan & opaque. Lastly, the flavor had an odd sourness too it - perhaps it was the vinegar, or the combination of vinegar & ginger? Anyway, its a neat idea... but I think I'll try some different ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States