Pecan Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Yum....Reminds me of pecan pies like Mom used to make! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This was a disastrous recipe for me. I made this jam based on the good review it had. I have been cooking for years and knew that if it turned out well for someone else, then it would for me too. Alas, it was awful. I followed the recipe to a tee and ended up with toffee, not jam! I am now experimenting with making more, but adding water, and not cooking it so long. The last batch I experimented with was almost perfect. As soon as I figure out exactly how much water and how long to cook, I will post the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This made an unfortunate looking brown sugary mess for me, but it tasted ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Tasty, unique, and successful. To avoid a grainy sugary mess, cook until sugar is dissolved and ingredients are well combined, as indicated in the recipe. To avoid making toffee...well...don't let it boil, as indicated in the recipe, and especially not to hard crack stage, which any seasoned candy maker will tell you is the only way possible to turn sugar into hard candy. I would have given this only 4 stars because I did find it a little too spicy (and I love spicy stuff), but I thought an extra star was in order to help balance poor reviews from reviewers who could not possibly have followed the recipe to a tee considering their stated end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I followed the directions as written and was so disappointed. It came out crumbly like apple crum topping. I was so looking forward to a jam like consistancy. I wonder if maybe there are some ingregients missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I don't understand the negative reviews some have submitted. This recipe is DELICIOUS! I've made it for gifts and the recipients are absolutely raving about it. It does set up a little on the thick side, but if you warm it in the microwave for 15-20 secs. it's perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
this tastes lovely, very thick though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this for my husband who loves pecan pie {I don't like it at all}. He LOVES it! He said it's like having pie on his toast. His favorite is on wheat biscuits. Was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custar, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milton Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Darn. I was hoping the "sugary mess" syndrome" would not afflict my jam: alas, I am left with a jar of streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kind*machine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savoy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe. More of a pecan butter than a jam though. I did add about a tablespoon of honey to the mix, to help with the consistency, and it added a nice flavor. Very good on toast or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States