Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
this is great! I avoid cooking the nuts as this alters the good fat in them so I just sprinkle them on top at the end. Not as flavorful as roasted nuts but supposedly healthier. Anyway, wonderful! Thanks. Love the orange juice in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Delicious! I had to use Splenda instead of sugar because most of my guests were diabetic but it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Tasty, but I needed longer baking time. I needed at least 40-45 minutes. I also used PAM like many other reviewers, but some parts of my finished toast still stuck, so make sure if you're using PAM to spray a few good layers. The orange zest was definitely a unique touch and the pecans created a pleasent crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My family loved this recipe. Wanted a special breakfast for Easter and we got it. The only thing I did was add a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe. My daughter who doesn't like French Toast absolutely loved this. Not too sweet, just right in the flavoring. We served it with just a little butter and sprinkle of powdered sugar. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Excellent! I made this for mother's day and it was a hit with my parents. Very easy and tastes great. I also reduced the amount of zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
YUM!!!! Love this recipe!!! I didnt soak it overnight and it was still delicious. I turned it a few times in about 10 - 15 minutes time and it turned out wonderful. I also used my electric griddle to cook it and then I added a little butter cube on each piece and sprinkled it with the chopped pecans... this was a great hit and I'll be making this one again.. especially for company since it was so easy and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I used pep. farm cinnamon raisin bread and it worked great! I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and had no orange zest. It came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Great! I, too, added cinnamon to the mixture, about 1/2 teaspoon and then sprinkled a little more on top before baking. I do have a problem with them sticking so I've started spraying the pan with spray before adding the butter. Very good recipe. My family loves it and it's pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was absolutely amazing! My only recommendation was that I had to cook it for about 35-45 minutes total. So yummy though, I'll definitely keep this recipe in mind the next time we have overnight guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Mills, Maine, USA
Living In: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
A great French toast recipe - especially if you don't want to be cooking over a griddle. I used skim milk, brown sugar, freshly grated nutmeg and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I left out the 1/3 cup of butter entirely. Since I didn't have any orange zest on hand, I added 2 tbsp of Grand Marnier to the egg mixture. I sliced the bread 2 1/2 inches thick (reminiscant of a brunch I recently had at a trendy place in the south end of Boston). I soaked the bread for an hour and baked the French Toast for 35 minutes in the same dish - I had read that it was sticking for some people, but used a non-stick pan and took it out immediately after removing from the oven (a bit did stick - but it was so much easier than using two pans). And before serving, I sifted some icing sugar over the top of the dish. Yummy! Great recipe Wanda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States