Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was a bit too bland. I made itr for Christmas brunch.....I did like the crispy texture however....I would recommend using a bit more spice such as cinnamon....probably personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I served this as one of the dishes for a Sunday brunch this morning for 8 guests, and it was a success. I used skim milk, substituted Splenda for the sugar and cinnamon for the nutmeg, and sprayed the baking pan with PAM. I think a cinnamon raison bread would be yummy but as I try to eat whole grain products, I used whole wheat bread. I may add some raisons next time and make half with nutmeg to see which flavor we like best. My company had a choice of eating it plain (which was fine) or topping it with pourable Splenda, sugar, syrup, or fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Very good for low fat. I used cooking spray instead of butter to grease the pan and it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
easily the best french toast i've made yet - rewarding, unique, and not terribly difficult. i took the advice of a previous reviewer and added more cinammon and nutmeg - also used brown sugar instead of white sugar, and used spray for the bottom of the pan instead of butter. and i'm a pecan lover, so i used more pecans than called for. turned out wonderfully, and really impressed my husband, who still hasn't figured out how i managed to get breakfast made before he woke up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was my first attempt at baked french toast and I thought it was delicious, especially considering it's somewhat "healthier" than many of the other recipes I looked at. None of the others I served it to used the maple syrup I set out; they seemed to enjoy "as is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I dont usually comment on recipes, but I couldnt help myself this time. This recipe is truly outstanding! It was very easy to make, and eventhough I didn't have any nutmeg and didnt add any orange zest, it still turned out delicious! I did however add 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon and increased the vanilla extract to 1/2 teaspoon(personal preference). I also melted the butter and mixed it in with the rest of the ingredients. After cutting the (french) bread I then diped/soaked every single bread piece into the bowl of ingredients. I single layered the pan with the soaked bread, placed in refrigerator overnight, 5 hours later I flipped every piece of bread over and placed back in the refrigerator, 4 hours later I took out of fridge and sprinkled the pecans on top. I then placed in oven as recommended at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. The whole fam loved it, including my hard to please little brother :-)! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Makes a classy brunch for family or friends, it was a big hit. I used fresh Vienna bread from our local bakery, and made it the same morning - slice your bread a little thinner and it still tasted delicious, the warm bread soaks it up fine in two to three hours. Top with maple syrup, rasberries or blueberries and invite friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This recipe was delicious and very easy! I sliced the bread a little thicker using the full 1# loaf which exactly fit into a 9" x 13" pan to soak it overnight and it worked fine. The only thing I left out was most of the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I used pep. farm cinnamon raisin bread and it worked great! I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and had no orange zest. It came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
YUM!!!! Love this recipe!!! I didnt soak it overnight and it was still delicious. I turned it a few times in about 10 - 15 minutes time and it turned out wonderful. I also used my electric griddle to cook it and then I added a little butter cube on each piece and sprinkled it with the chopped pecans... this was a great hit and I'll be making this one again.. especially for company since it was so easy and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States