Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I did not have time to do the over night thing and it came out fantastic. I served it 2 ways: both were made into sandwhiches - one type with nutella in the middle and the other with cream cheese in the middle. I dipped the bread in the egg mixture, pan fried each piece. Make it into a sandwhich with cream cheese or nutella in the middle. Return to pan quickly and heat like a grilled cheese to heat middle. Serve on plate with the pecan - orange rind garnish, a dollop of whip cream and vermont maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
easily the best french toast i've made yet - rewarding, unique, and not terribly difficult. i took the advice of a previous reviewer and added more cinammon and nutmeg - also used brown sugar instead of white sugar, and used spray for the bottom of the pan instead of butter. and i'm a pecan lover, so i used more pecans than called for. turned out wonderfully, and really impressed my husband, who still hasn't figured out how i managed to get breakfast made before he woke up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was a bit too bland. I made itr for Christmas brunch.....I did like the crispy texture however....I would recommend using a bit more spice such as cinnamon....probably personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This recipe was delicious and very easy! I sliced the bread a little thicker using the full 1# loaf which exactly fit into a 9" x 13" pan to soak it overnight and it worked fine. The only thing I left out was most of the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I served this as one of the dishes for a Sunday brunch this morning for 8 guests, and it was a success. I used skim milk, substituted Splenda for the sugar and cinnamon for the nutmeg, and sprayed the baking pan with PAM. I think a cinnamon raison bread would be yummy but as I try to eat whole grain products, I used whole wheat bread. I may add some raisons next time and make half with nutmeg to see which flavor we like best. My company had a choice of eating it plain (which was fine) or topping it with pourable Splenda, sugar, syrup, or fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was my first attempt at baked french toast and I thought it was delicious, especially considering it's somewhat "healthier" than many of the other recipes I looked at. None of the others I served it to used the maple syrup I set out; they seemed to enjoy "as is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Makes a classy brunch for family or friends, it was a big hit. I used fresh Vienna bread from our local bakery, and made it the same morning - slice your bread a little thinner and it still tasted delicious, the warm bread soaks it up fine in two to three hours. Top with maple syrup, rasberries or blueberries and invite friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Very good for low fat. I used cooking spray instead of butter to grease the pan and it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States