Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Pretty good recipe - I liked being able to prep it the night before. The texture and flavor were good, but I feel like it's missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
A very good recipe! Very filling! Had a delicious sweetness and the orange zest added a perfect touch of flavor! I, like the others, had to bake the toast longer. All together, I baked for close to 35 mins. The ones on the end were crisp, however, the slices in the middle were still slightly soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was a very easy and quick dish. My husband loved it. Did have to bake it about 5 minutes longer than recommended.Will have this for breakfast again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was awesome. I did not use all the grated orange peel- I got too tired grating it and ran out of oranges. I made three loaves of bread. My sister who was not wearing her glasses cut the first loaf into thin- think thinner than sandwich bread slices, the second loaf was about 1/2 inch slices and the third loaf we cut into approx 3/4 inch slices. They all tasted great. the thinner ones of course took less time to cook. the thicker slices you definately want to cook longer to get that crispness. We had leftovers and just wrapped them up in foil for the next day. They reheated well in the oven. 9 people ages 7 to 50 all thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Amazing flavor- I was worried at first with the amount of OJ that was going into this recipe- I thought it was kindof odd soaking bread with OJ- but this was awesome- we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was easy to make and tasted pretty good too. I loved how quickly it was to make the night before and there's minimal work in the morning. If you don't like the taste of orange - don't make this - it was quite strong. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very good, guests were impressed (and taking second helpings). I didn't add the sugar to the mixture, but sprinkled a little sugar after pouring the egg mixture over the bread. I turn the bread immediately, to help even coverage, and sprinkled the other side with sugar. I omitted the orange zest, and greased a pizza tray with butter to bake the toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Love this recipe. Great for stale bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I dont usually comment on recipes, but I couldnt help myself this time. This recipe is truly outstanding! It was very easy to make, and eventhough I didn't have any nutmeg and didnt add any orange zest, it still turned out delicious! I did however add 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon and increased the vanilla extract to 1/2 teaspoon(personal preference). I also melted the butter and mixed it in with the rest of the ingredients. After cutting the (french) bread I then diped/soaked every single bread piece into the bowl of ingredients. I single layered the pan with the soaked bread, placed in refrigerator overnight, 5 hours later I flipped every piece of bread over and placed back in the refrigerator, 4 hours later I took out of fridge and sprinkled the pecans on top. I then placed in oven as recommended at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. The whole fam loved it, including my hard to please little brother :-)! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was awesome! I even made it with homemade sourdough bread, which made it even better. Loved the flavor of the orange and pecans. With the thick slices of homemade bread, I cooked it a little longer than the directions - just until it was crispy and no longer mushy. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States