Pecan-Crusted Walleye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Hint - Pecan meal is just finely ground pecans. Or you can take chopped pecans, put into a zippy bag and crush them with a rolling pin. You just don't want big pieces. When I created this recipe, the idea was to find a flavorful, but light crust for the delicate fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Very good recipe for fish. I used tilapia and it was delicious and very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Just made this tonight - Wonderful! I did make a mess of the coating. After putting the first fillet through the pecan meal, the remaining meal turned into a goopy sludge and it was difficult to coat the other fillets. It still tasted fantastic - just not very uniform or as appealing in appearance as it might have been. I think next time I might try dipping the fillets in the egg mixture and then spooning the coating over each fillet. Also wondering if it would be good with a coating of 2/3 pecan meal to 1/3 panko crumbs? Pecans sure ain't cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Found some walleye on sale ($10/lb, so maybe I'll try another fish next time). It was outstanding. I tend to use fresh herbs, and didn't have garlic or onion powder, so I put my fresh garlic and onion in my chopper and added my egg. I used hot ground paprika and cayenne pepper to my own whole ground pecan meal. Could not be easier. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this tonight and it was wonderful! I did find a pecan panko breading mix at Whole Foods so I didn't have to add much seasoning but the fish cooked perfectly. Served with some risotto and fresh advocado/tomatoes. Super quick and easy summer week night dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Yummy! We used Swai fish, but can't wait to try it with fresh-caught walleye. Very quick and easy. The whole family enjoyed it (even picky young kids)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Well done. Nice light flavor. Served well with Risotto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delicious! One of my new favorites. We call it Pickerel up in Canada. I would make my own pecan meal next time as the store bought one is a bit too fine and I think this would be nice with a little more texture. Serves with sautéed green beans and grape tomatoes and fingerling potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made my own pecan meal for this recipe by putting whole pecans in my chopper and pulsing until they were turned to crumbs. However, I don't think that worked very well because the pecans started to become moist and mushy (on their way to becoming nut butter). Next time, I will add flour to the mix and I think that will help prevent this problem and help the breading to not clump on the fish. This recipe had nice flavor and walleye is a meaty fish, so my husband didn't have as much a problem with it as he sometimes does with other kinds of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States