Pecan-Crusted Pork with Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I have been cooking for years. The best way that I found to make a great crust is a mixture of mayo and dijon mustard with a few drops of water mixed together, dip pork chops, chicken or even fish in it. In another bowl pour panko (found in oriental section) bread crumbs and seasoned bread crumbs together with pecans or for Italian dishes grated parmesan cheese. Heat a pan with enough oil just to cover meat 1/2 way.Cook until crisp then finish in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! I layed everything out and my fiance made this for us. It was sooo good. We also cooked some bacon on the side and sprinkled it on top of the pumpkin butter. We will definitley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was delicious. I prepared exactly as the recipe is written although my pork chops were slightly thicker so I browned the first side, flipped them and slid the pan in the oven to finish. The pumpkin butter is amazing and I'm sure I'll find other uses for that as the recipe does make quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
The pumpkin butter was delicious! I had trouble getting the breading to crisp up and get golden and stay on the chops, but then I seem to have that trouble with anything breaded. (Guess I don't know the secret to breading.) Anyway, it tasted really good, my family loved it, and I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Drew
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Hey guys, a couple of you are saying you were having trouble with the coating not sticking to the meat. I didn't add the traditional breading method of flouring and dipping in egg wash for two reasons. The first of which is that I wanted the cleanest flavors possible and to not have the breading be to heavy (adding eggs and flour not only makes the breading thicker but they also add flavor) Secondly, the meat itself is sufficiently moist enough to hold the coating if pressed into the meat. Also please note that the pan MUST be hot. If the pan and oil are not hot then the coating will absorb the oil helping for the breading to separate and the breading is likely to stick to the pan. I hope this information is helpful for future people making the recipe. ~Drew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My husband and I thought this turned out great! My sister loved it and she doesn't even like pumpkin. I didn't have any bread crumbs, but had some Low-sodium Ritz crackers so I chopped them up with the pecans in my processor. I used an egg wash and only added 1/2 cup sugar to the pumpkin butter. The grocery store only had a large pack of pork chops....but I'm glad we have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Wow! Every bit as good as the description. I made the dish exactly as the recipe stated and I wouldn't change a thing. The whole family loved it, and has been using the leftover pumpkin butter on toast, waffles, etc. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Loved the combination of bread crumbs with the pecans. I used Panko bread crumbs and reduced the sugar in the pumpkin butter. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Quick and easy, I would change a thing. My family loved them. Will defintly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was a fun way to use my leftover pumpkin puree from pumpkin pies. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the cooking method. I seared both sides of the pork in a hot skillet, then finished cooking them in the oven (at 400) for about 15 minutes. I find this leaves them very moist. Also, I breaded them and refrigerated for an hour before I cooked them, I think this helps the coating to stay on better. My kids loved the chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States