Pecan Crusted Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I just made a couple of changes. Instead of the egg and flour mixture (some comments said it was to thick) I mixed some dijon mustard with some honey and coated the pork chops in that before dipping them in the pecan mixture. I fried lightly in olive oil and then since I don't have an oven proof skillet, I moved them to a glass casserole that I sprayed with pam. So delicious! Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
As the other reviews mentioned the recipe needing something sweet, I decided to mix in some brown sugar with the pecan mixture. They turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very good! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added some brown sugar to the pecans. Wow! We loved it! I also had some eggbeaters to use up, so used that instead of real eggs. I don't know if that changed anything or not. We will have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I make this at home except I mix together a dijon mustsard/mayo/olive oil sauce I coat the chops in first and instead of using flour- I use a bread slice and my food processor- the dijon mixture make the chops so juicy and loads and loads of flavor- try it out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanillaBean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was delicious! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added 2 tspns of brown sugar. If the original recipes called for a sweet ingredient like brown sugar or honey I would have given it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I totally agree that this recipe needs something sweet. But, instead of adding it directly to the meat, I made a cherry demi-glaze to pour on top of the pork chop. Delicious! Just reduce 2 cups of beef broth down to 1 cup. Add 1 cup of good red wine and a big handful of dried cherries, salt & pepper. Then reduce this more. You can make this ahead or have it reducing while you prepare the pork chop. What a delicious meal this is with the demi-glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
my family and i decided that the chops were 'different' even though the recipe sounded absolutely delicious - which is why i gave it a try. i think it was missing something sweet. the addition of honey or maple syrup would make this recipe work a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Super simple and very tasty. I also added brown sugar to the pecan mixture and I thought that made a positive impact on the overall flavor. My husband and I both thought that it could still use a little more flavor though so next time I will make a fruit compote to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Other than plain old scrambled eggs, this is the first thing I've ever cooked, period. I DO NOT COOK. I thought I was going to totally screw this up, and instead, they were terrific! If I can make this turn out great, anybody can. The only problem i had was that the pecans are already oily, and the recipe calls for a buttered frying pan... kind of greasy. I served it with a dab of apricot preserves... yummy! my dad and my boyfriend both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I have had pecan crusted fish before, but this is the first time trying it on pork chops. The breading just came out too thick. We didn't really like the flavor. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States