Pecan Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
While these go by a number of names, Pecan Fingers, Mexican Wedding Cakes, Pecan Crescents, these cookies have been a part of many families' Christmas cookie tradition for decades. This is very similar to the recipe I've been using from a very old Wisconsin Electric Co. Christmas cookie cookbook in that while other, similar, recipes call for a ratio of 1 cup butter, 2 cups flour and 1 cup pecans, this recipe calls for double the amount of pecans! I mean, this is truly a PECAN cookie! While the recipe I have always used calls for slightly less salt, powdered sugar and vanilla I found that to be a negligible difference. It's the amount of pecans that's key! These are very delicate cookies with a melt-in-your-mouth texture. I like to make mine small - it takes forever to shape them but they look so attractive on the cookie plate. I also roll them twice in the powdered sugar, once when they first come out of the oven and again when they've cooled. I also use finely ground pecans which, gratefully, can already be purchased that way, a real time saver! Great little cookie that will always remain a part of our Christmas cookie favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I'm too lazy to shape crescents so I use my small cookie scoop, portion them all out, then roll them into smooth balls. Perfect with a a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had misplaced by own recipe so was I really happy to find this one here. It's perfect - although in my opinion a recipe is easier to follow if the ingredients are listed in the order to be used. Comment. For the person who needs crescent-shape-making help - take a walnut-size piece of the dough, roll in a ball quickly, then just change the rolling action to make a small log shape. Lightly pinch the ends as you bend the cookie placing it on the cookie sheet. Very quick, no trouble whatsoever. If your mixture is too dry, I would suggest more creaming action is required. The ingredients actually provide for quite a moist dough. Rather than roll the cookies in icing sugar, this time I sifted the sugar over the cookies - it saved a lot of time. I had to bake for 17 minutes but the timing is always subject to the individual oven. Thanks for the recipe. I doubled my batch because these cookies always go quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. My best friend used to make these cookies for my mother and I all the time. I have an easy way to mix the dough.You need to use your food processor to mix everything. First put the pecans in the food processor (I used 2 cups of pecans instead of 1 cup) Let the pecans process so that it becomes close to a paste. Then you add the softened butter, sugar, vanilla and flour. This allows the mixture to mix perfectly. Then just form the dough into little crescents which I measured by using a teaspoon. I was able to make close to 75 cookies this way. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
These were soo good and so easy. I made 2 x in 1 week because my husband kept eating them up! I can't wait to impress my cookie exchange with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
THANK YOU, Cheryl! In the south, we refer to these cookies as Southern Wedding Cookies. I have been trying to find this recipe for years. I remember as a child, every wedding I have ever been to had these cookies! I tried to find the recipe in time for my wedding...I now am in Washington state and wanted reminders of home. I didn't find in time for my wedding. However, I passed your recipe off to a girl getting married soon. Thanks so much for this great recipe!! It is exactly as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
These were very good cookies. As another reviewer said earlier, Texans call these Wedding Cookies. I have been looking for a recipe similar to wedding cookies, but the ones I'm familiar with are round, not crescents. Nonetheless, these are the closest I've found. I did not roll mine in powdered sugar but went ahead and used close to a cup of powdered sugar in the dough. I rolled these into balls rather than the crescent shape and they baked up just fine. Thank you Cheryl for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies are delicious! They are a bit sweet, but go fabulous with a strong cup of coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
These are tasty. Just be sure to use very finely chopped pecans. I didn't chop mine up quite good enough and it made the cookies fall apart when I tried to roll them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLIECOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I have been looking for these cookies for years. My grandmother use to make them for me. They taste exactly like hers, magnificent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States