Pecan Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
While these go by a number of names, Pecan Fingers, Mexican Wedding Cakes, Pecan Crescents, these cookies have been a part of many families' Christmas cookie tradition for decades. This is very similar to the recipe I've been using from a very old Wisconsin Electric Co. Christmas cookie cookbook in that while other, similar, recipes call for a ratio of 1 cup butter, 2 cups flour and 1 cup pecans, this recipe calls for double the amount of pecans! I mean, this is truly a PECAN cookie! While the recipe I have always used calls for slightly less salt, powdered sugar and vanilla I found that to be a negligible difference. It's the amount of pecans that's key! These are very delicate cookies with a melt-in-your-mouth texture. I like to make mine small - it takes forever to shape them but they look so attractive on the cookie plate. I also roll them twice in the powdered sugar, once when they first come out of the oven and again when they've cooled. I also use finely ground pecans which, gratefully, can already be purchased that way, a real time saver! Great little cookie that will always remain a part of our Christmas cookie favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I'm too lazy to shape crescents so I use my small cookie scoop, portion them all out, then roll them into smooth balls. Perfect with a a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had misplaced by own recipe so was I really happy to find this one here. It's perfect - although in my opinion a recipe is easier to follow if the ingredients are listed in the order to be used. Comment. For the person who needs crescent-shape-making help - take a walnut-size piece of the dough, roll in a ball quickly, then just change the rolling action to make a small log shape. Lightly pinch the ends as you bend the cookie placing it on the cookie sheet. Very quick, no trouble whatsoever. If your mixture is too dry, I would suggest more creaming action is required. The ingredients actually provide for quite a moist dough. Rather than roll the cookies in icing sugar, this time I sifted the sugar over the cookies - it saved a lot of time. I had to bake for 17 minutes but the timing is always subject to the individual oven. Thanks for the recipe. I doubled my batch because these cookies always go quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. My best friend used to make these cookies for my mother and I all the time. I have an easy way to mix the dough.You need to use your food processor to mix everything. First put the pecans in the food processor (I used 2 cups of pecans instead of 1 cup) Let the pecans process so that it becomes close to a paste. Then you add the softened butter, sugar, vanilla and flour. This allows the mixture to mix perfectly. Then just form the dough into little crescents which I measured by using a teaspoon. I was able to make close to 75 cookies this way. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
THANK YOU, Cheryl! In the south, we refer to these cookies as Southern Wedding Cookies. I have been trying to find this recipe for years. I remember as a child, every wedding I have ever been to had these cookies! I tried to find the recipe in time for my wedding...I now am in Washington state and wanted reminders of home. I didn't find in time for my wedding. However, I passed your recipe off to a girl getting married soon. Thanks so much for this great recipe!! It is exactly as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
These were soo good and so easy. I made 2 x in 1 week because my husband kept eating them up! I can't wait to impress my cookie exchange with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
These were very good cookies. As another reviewer said earlier, Texans call these Wedding Cookies. I have been looking for a recipe similar to wedding cookies, but the ones I'm familiar with are round, not crescents. Nonetheless, these are the closest I've found. I did not roll mine in powdered sugar but went ahead and used close to a cup of powdered sugar in the dough. I rolled these into balls rather than the crescent shape and they baked up just fine. Thank you Cheryl for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies are delicious! They are a bit sweet, but go fabulous with a strong cup of coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I have been looking for these cookies for years. My grandmother use to make them for me. They taste exactly like hers, magnificent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I used these for Christmas cookies. They are really wonderful and have a nice butter flavor. Simple yet elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States