Pecan Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had misplaced by own recipe so was I really happy to find this one here. It's perfect - although in my opinion a recipe is easier to follow if the ingredients are listed in the order to be used. Comment. For the person who needs crescent-shape-making help - take a walnut-size piece of the dough, roll in a ball quickly, then just change the rolling action to make a small log shape. Lightly pinch the ends as you bend the cookie placing it on the cookie sheet. Very quick, no trouble whatsoever. If your mixture is too dry, I would suggest more creaming action is required. The ingredients actually provide for quite a moist dough. Rather than roll the cookies in icing sugar, this time I sifted the sugar over the cookies - it saved a lot of time. I had to bake for 17 minutes but the timing is always subject to the individual oven. Thanks for the recipe. I doubled my batch because these cookies always go quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I like this recipe. It's easy and it worked out great. It's a simple addition to add to my Christmas cookies to have something other then chocolate and to use up the rest of my pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
The taste of these are delicious, but my crescent making skills could use some help. Thanks for the yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made these for Christmas. They were easy and tasty. I rolled them into little balls instead of making crescents. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These were so hard to find! I knew what I was looking for but had no idea what they were called. I made them into 1 inch balls instead of crescents. The dough seemed too dry at first but they turned out wonderfully. I really had to be carefule rolling them in the sugar- maybe I should have let them cool more but one crumbled. Wonderful though. Just the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LORIKAE
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
MMMMmmm....the taste of these brings me back to my childhood growing up in the south. I too know these cookies as Southern Wedding Cookies, except for the crescent shape. In my opinion, the time it takes to shape them into crescents isn't really worth the work unless you want to make a presentation of them. But these are some of my favorite cookies! I substituted half the butter for vegan margarine and the other half of the butter with water. They still came out buttery and melt-in-your-mouth perfect! Don't be shy with rolling them in the confectioners' sugar as this enhances that melty sensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly. I found that they spread some on the cookie sheet, so they are not perfect crescent shape. The taste is good, but not a favorite a my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I love these cookies! Been looking for this recipe for a while. I have also made them with crushed almonds. I baked mine for exactly 15 minutes and they came out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
These are tasty. Just be sure to use very finely chopped pecans. I didn't chop mine up quite good enough and it made the cookies fall apart when I tried to roll them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLIECOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
My family LOVES these cookies. I add an egg and a little bit of milk to the dough. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States