Pecan Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My mom made these all my life! They're so delicate and good - brings me back to Christmas in my mom's kitchen. Thanks for sharing - I need to bring it back into rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay Chilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I've been making these for 30 years - but I always roll them into balls. The crescent shape is used for its sister cookie - almond crescents! I live in Texas, and the lady that gave me the recipe called them Russian Tea Cookies! You can never make enough of them. As others have said, don't leave the pecans in large chuncks - they are crumbly and too hard to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe was so easy and I know everyone will be impressed by these delicious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livnluvnlife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies are delicious! They are a bit sweet, but go fabulous with a strong cup of coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This the first time I've made Pecan Crescents, and my husband loved them! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjjquan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I'm too lazy to shape crescents so I use my small cookie scoop, portion them all out, then roll them into smooth balls. Perfect with a a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
While these go by a number of names, Pecan Fingers, Mexican Wedding Cakes, Pecan Crescents, these cookies have been a part of many families' Christmas cookie tradition for decades. This is very similar to the recipe I've been using from a very old Wisconsin Electric Co. Christmas cookie cookbook in that while other, similar, recipes call for a ratio of 1 cup butter, 2 cups flour and 1 cup pecans, this recipe calls for double the amount of pecans! I mean, this is truly a PECAN cookie! While the recipe I have always used calls for slightly less salt, powdered sugar and vanilla I found that to be a negligible difference. It's the amount of pecans that's key! These are very delicate cookies with a melt-in-your-mouth texture. I like to make mine small - it takes forever to shape them but they look so attractive on the cookie plate. I also roll them twice in the powdered sugar, once when they first come out of the oven and again when they've cooled. I also use finely ground pecans which, gratefully, can already be purchased that way, a real time saver! Great little cookie that will always remain a part of our Christmas cookie favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These cookies are WONDERFUL...THANK YOU so much for such a SUPER recipe...these cookies melt in your mouth...I doubled the recipe and used three and a half cups of pecans...ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL Christmas cookies....I HIGHLY recommend that you bake a batch up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These were pretty good, I like them a little sweeter so I'll add another 1/4 c. sugar, but the texture was perfect. I rolled mine in powdered sugar twice as soon as they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States