Pecan Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies are delicious! They are a bit sweet, but go fabulous with a strong cup of coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This the first time I've made Pecan Crescents, and my husband loved them! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjjquan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I'm too lazy to shape crescents so I use my small cookie scoop, portion them all out, then roll them into smooth balls. Perfect with a a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
While these go by a number of names, Pecan Fingers, Mexican Wedding Cakes, Pecan Crescents, these cookies have been a part of many families' Christmas cookie tradition for decades. This is very similar to the recipe I've been using from a very old Wisconsin Electric Co. Christmas cookie cookbook in that while other, similar, recipes call for a ratio of 1 cup butter, 2 cups flour and 1 cup pecans, this recipe calls for double the amount of pecans! I mean, this is truly a PECAN cookie! While the recipe I have always used calls for slightly less salt, powdered sugar and vanilla I found that to be a negligible difference. It's the amount of pecans that's key! These are very delicate cookies with a melt-in-your-mouth texture. I like to make mine small - it takes forever to shape them but they look so attractive on the cookie plate. I also roll them twice in the powdered sugar, once when they first come out of the oven and again when they've cooled. I also use finely ground pecans which, gratefully, can already be purchased that way, a real time saver! Great little cookie that will always remain a part of our Christmas cookie favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These cookies are WONDERFUL...THANK YOU so much for such a SUPER recipe...these cookies melt in your mouth...I doubled the recipe and used three and a half cups of pecans...ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL Christmas cookies....I HIGHLY recommend that you bake a batch up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These were pretty good, I like them a little sweeter so I'll add another 1/4 c. sugar, but the texture was perfect. I rolled mine in powdered sugar twice as soon as they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
THANK YOU Cheryl for this recipe! My Grandmother made these, my mother made them, and I have been making them for 30 years and suddenly my copy of the recipe has gone missing. I would never hear the end of it if I didn't make them this Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
i liked these alot, the only thing i would change is more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
These were awesome. I had a recipe for great pecan crescents that was given to me a couple of years ago, but it had somehow gotten lost and I was looking for another. This was the closest I could get, and they taste pretty fantastic. Even my neighbour who doesn't like pecans enjoyed them, and I got asked for the recipe. I used 1 1/3 cup of pecans, as that's what I had, and it was plenty - 2 may be too many, but try it and see. Thanks for a great recipe! I am -definitely- making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. My best friend used to make these cookies for my mother and I all the time. I have an easy way to mix the dough.You need to use your food processor to mix everything. First put the pecans in the food processor (I used 2 cups of pecans instead of 1 cup) Let the pecans process so that it becomes close to a paste. Then you add the softened butter, sugar, vanilla and flour. This allows the mixture to mix perfectly. Then just form the dough into little crescents which I measured by using a teaspoon. I was able to make close to 75 cookies this way. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States